Home > Uncategorized > Throats, Barbecue, Exits and Phantogram

Throats, Barbecue, Exits and Phantogram

The week-long cold that’s been nagging at me has finally caught up in a bad way. Could barely speak today and barely have any voice left. I’m going to call my physician in the AM and try to schedule something ASAP.

Other than that, good weekend. Friday night, I wrangled up friends Ed, Erin, Eric, Karen and Chris to take me out for my birthday (a belated celebration) where I finally ate at the illustrious Dinosaur Barbecue on River St. in downtown Troy. It wasn’t bad, but I was in no danger of needing a change of pants during or after the meal. I got chicken and ribs with BBQ fried rice and their mac and cheese. It was good, but I won’t be back there anytime soon with those prices.

I must accompany this micro-review with two disclaimers:

  1. I am the furthest thing from a foodie and have the palette of an infant.
  2. I am not wealthy.

So if you have money and are one of those people that actually likes food enough to write stuff about it online and think people care, you will probably enjoy it.

Saturday night I went to Exit Dome 4 at the WEXT Studios.

Potential future ex-wife with her schoolyard chum, collectively known as Phantogram, blew my mind at Exit Dome 4. Taken from WEXT's Facebook page; photo by Anthony Tassarotti (click on pic to access his Flickr page).

We came in late after I missed My Exit. Ha! But seriously, I’m an idiot.

I caught the tail end of Nancy Walker‘s set. She seems like a very nice woman who plays some excellent folk music that I could only care less about if I put the effort in. That’s just me, though. I’m a Philistine.

In-between sets, Bryan Thomas played outside the theater. I was a little bummed because I had actually heard some of his stuff for the first time and was really looking forward to a full, uninterrupted set. What I heard I did enjoy, though, and it looks like I’ll just have to make the effort. Which I HATE because everything should be brought to my goddamn feet!

Next up was The Rodeo Barons and my God, their guitarist was freaking great. They were all sorts of Flying Burrito Bros./Neil Young/Wilco (sans their current trend of writing songs that only sound like George Harrison covers), and I absolutely loved it because I’m an old man. I was disappointed that the only merch they had was for the lead singer’s solo work. Nice kid I’m sure, but that band is far greater than any of its individual parts.

They were followed by one of my favorite bands, Que Caro. They rocked it, as usual, and also surprised me with an EP! Yes, they finally have a few tracks laid down and available for purchase at their show. C’est magnifique, you beautiful, wonderful bastards.

They were followed by The Charlie Watts Riots. They were a lot of fun. Catchy anthemic alt-rock in the vein of Manic Street Preachers. It was nice. Also, their drummer looks like Lutz from “30 Rock” and their bassists looks like Stephen Frye.

Then came Phantogram. Holy shit. Confession: I’d never listened to them before. Like, at all. Yet there they were, in all their glory, and I felt like such an asshole for ignoring them for as long as I did. Not that it was an effort on my part, mind you, I just never got around to it. But wow. Wowie wow wow. They blew any live show I’ve seen recently out of the water.

I bought their LP, Eyelid Movies, and you should too. It’s on iTunes. Go find it.

I also found out that the two people that compromise the outfit are longtime friends, not a married couple. So if Sarah Barthel is reading this, I’d just like her to know that I would be honored if she’d consider being my future ex-wife.

In all seriousness, they were goddamn great and I have a feeling their appearance coming up on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon this Wednesday (February 2nd) is going to blow them right the fuck up. And deservedly so.

The folks at WEXT ended the evening by announcing they’d do an “everybody on the stage” jam that very few of the artists seemed eager to participate in. And for good reason: that shit is whack, you guys. I love you all to death, but it is. When they announced it, I audibly groaned and joked that “they’ll probably do ‘The Weight’.” Well, wouldn’t you know it, they did the goddamn song. My Exit, stage left.

A great night, though, and further proof that there IS a scene. Viva la WEXT.

Sebastien Barre has a slideshow here.

LINKS

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 31, 2011 at 8:41 am

    You’re not as funny as you seem to think you are.

    In the description of Phantogram, I believe you meant “concerted effort” although the other adjective seems to work just fine for you in general.

    Why you continue to write about things you confess to know nothing about is beyond me.

    • January 31, 2011 at 12:51 pm

      OH MY GOD, YOU CAUGHT A TYPO!

      Yet if this post was on Nippertown, instead of my personal blog that I write for shits and giggles, the dick would be in your mouth so quick and you know it.

      Go fuck yourself you fat, ass-kissing cunt.

      • January 31, 2011 at 1:14 pm

        Sounds like somebody has some rage issues. Sorry I wasted my time looking at your “personal” blog. I won’t trouble you again.

      • January 31, 2011 at 1:35 pm

        Yes, I have an issue with people that jump on and act like a dick for no reason, then run and cry and act like a victim when they get called out on that shit.

        And I don’t have rage issues, I just have a no tolerance for assholes issue.

        Thanks for not reading/commenting. Appreciate it.

  2. January 31, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Your comment about needing to change your pants regarding a certain restaurant cracked me up. Here’s a little fact that I’ve been withholding regarding that same establishment: I also did not have to change my pants, but it was pretty close – probably not for the same reasons you’re talking about, though. 😛

  3. -S
    January 31, 2011 at 11:43 am

    You picked the right time to catch Phantogram actually, the recent addition of a drummer really made a great difference, I loved that sound and the tweaks they made. I caught them on video a few times, in pictures at Northern Lights, Rev Hall twice, Circus Cafe and Red Square, and while the sound was great Saturday, you really need to see them with an active/moving audience.

    • January 31, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      Didn’t know the drummer was a new addition. Definitely enhanced their sound.

      Agreed about the audience. I understood the need for all the chairs, since it was basically a donor function and that audience skews a bit older. But man, I was really wishing things could get a bit louder and more energetic in there during certain sets.

      • -S
        January 31, 2011 at 2:09 pm

        Yes, that’s Tim Oakley, from The Mathematicians (local).

        With respect to the mess above. You have to admit the argument of calling him out for acting like a victim is difficult to buy when you are doing the same right now on Twitter. Correct? A blog is a blog, the comments are expected, and for some people highly sought after (maybe too much, even). Either the guy was trolling, or you two have a personal beef going on, in any case I would just have deleted it, there is nothing to gain here. Trolls don’t like to be ignored, and if it’s really a personal issue, I would have addressed by email, not here or on Twitter. Twitter is for the lolz and crashing #smbtv

      • January 31, 2011 at 2:31 pm

        Well, right. Got a bit carried away because when someone’s a dick to me, I kind of tend to be a dick back. Tit for tat and all that.

        There’s no personal beef at all, which is why I didn’t just delete it. I really don’t have personal beefs, and if I do, I address them before they get to this point.

        It’s also not the first time he’s trolled. But people have to know that, listen, this is just who I am. I don’t have an online “presence” or “brand” or “persona.” This is me, and if you mess with the bull, you get the horns. I don’t buy into this concept of nothing counts on the internet, particularly when there’s so much overlap between this and the real-life local scene.

        For better or worse, I take it the same way I would if someone came up to me in person and said the same thing. Part of it is just how I grew up.

        The wrong way to go about it? Absolutely. My bad.

  4. Joe Putrock
    January 31, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Lutz from 30 Rock?? Seriously?? You couldn’t have lied and said Jack Donaghy??

    • January 31, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      I should have prefaced it with “a smaller,” honest! Because that’s what I was thinking. I just write too fast for my own good.

      But have you seen Alec Baldwin lately? Without the benefit of clever camera-work I mean.

      Trust me, you’d rather be Lutz.

  1. January 31, 2011 at 7:06 pm
  2. January 31, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

