Home > Uncategorized > Kevin Marshall Logs Off Twitter, Facebook (Times Union Preview)

Kevin Marshall Logs Off Twitter, Facebook (Times Union Preview)

PART 1: “IF YOU KNOW ME WELL ENOUGH, YOU KNOW HOW TO GET AHOLD OF ME”

Two weeks ago I was at a wedding and finishing up hors d’oeurves in a manner that would make most of you probably frown and/or scoff.

Hey, what do you want? I’m a Troy boy who grew up in Griswold Heights.

At that point, a nice young woman came up to me and introduced herself. As she extolled pleasantries, I had a mouth full of bread with some delicious substance on top of it. She laughed and tried to take responsibility for having approached me while I was stuffing my face.

“Nofe worfies,” I said in a voice warbled and distorted by carbs.

We got to talking, shared some brief stories, and related how we knew the bride and groom . All in all, it was a pleasant encounter.

“Well,” she said, “I just wanted to introduce myself to you and say I think you’re hilarious on Twitter. You use social media very well.”

At the time, I was flattered by the statement really stop to consider it until many days later. It wasn’t even the statement itself that bothered me; it was a very nice and sincere sentiment expressed by a lovely young woman who certainly meant well by it. It did, though, make me pause to consider what it had meant to me.

At what point did I allow my life to be defined by 140 character status updates?

It was time for a change.

Read more this coming Monday on my blog for The Albany Times Union (http://blog.timesunion.com/marshall/), which continues through the week in a series of posts culminating in a review of David Fincer’s “The Social Network.”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. CRZ
    September 25, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Wow, you just might take compliments even worse than you take abuse.

    • September 26, 2010 at 11:36 am

      TRUTH. You know me much better than you probably even realize.

      And I’m going to use that, if’n you don’t mind.

  2. CRZ
    September 28, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Oh, see, I don’t look at the URL when I click from your Twitter feed to other posts.

    (Also, it takes me a few days to catch up all at once)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

