Home > Uncategorized > Dream: The Caged Bird Sings

Dream: The Caged Bird Sings

Last night, I had a dream that I went to jail for a murder I didn’t commit, and one that my brother was also acquitted of.

Let me first say that neither my brother nor I have ever been a suspect in a murder.

In the dream, I was prosecuted for a murder that occurred in the late 80s. I went to jail, cried my entire way there, but then put on a strong face right as we pulled up to the gates.

“I’m innocent, you know,” I said to the guard. “Even though everybody says that, I really mean it. I’m innocent. There’s no way I could have done this.”

The kicker was that the prosecution claimed I committed the crime, even though the crime in question occurred when I was six years old and the victim was an adult.

So, in the dream, I spent my time talking to people who actually believed I was innocent. I was putting together my case with the help of my lawyer, who was a Southern gentleman with long, wild white hair.

The kicker? Prison wasn’t so bad. Everybody was polite, there was no violence, and I didn’t have any trouble at all. In fact, I even ran into my 8th grade social studies teacher, who apparently was working there as a sort of motivator for people to get their lives back in order.

As I showed the other guards and prisoners the facts of the case, they were all astounded as to how I could be found guilty.

Then, during a same-sex marriage ceremony occurring at the prison, the ghost of the victim appeared behind the judge marrying the two gentlemen (who were also wrongfully imprisoned). Only I could see the ghost, who put his finger up to his mouth to indicate I should keep quiet about his presence.

Then he walked into the judge’s body and took over, as the gathered crowd gasped. Suddenly they could see him, but only directly before he invaded the judge. Through the judge, he spoke:

“The woman in pearls at the front of the jury murdered me.”

Then it ended.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I see two meanings here:
    Your subconscious is trying to tell you that this needs to become some kind of epic short story.
    AND/OR
    It’s some kind of fantastic metaphorical story your subconscious is telling about the way you feel “imprisoned” about something.
    Either way, crazy dream.

    • July 11, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      I think the first.

      The second is possible, though. I’m a big bag of guilt.

  2. Ski
    July 12, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I’d love to see you write some thing with this. It’s haunting.

  3. Jason
    July 12, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    All I see here is that you dreamt about Mr. Allen in a prison setting and then a gay marriage. Hmmmm…..

    • Ed
      July 13, 2010 at 7:40 am

      Hah. Jason’s comment is where the saying comes from, no prophet is accepted in his own native place.

  4. Sally
    July 13, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I think the meaning of your dream can be found best in the prison scene. You get there and it’s not so bad, when meanwhile society/reality has shown us that it’s a punishment. So I guess you have to ask yourself if there’s somewhere you’re supposed to go that you dread? A place of reformation? This could be your brain telling you it’ll be okay in the end.
    Dreams are like toddlers who are mad that you don’t pay attention to what they’re saying. So they draw on the wall to get your attention but you can only understand half of what they scribble on the fucking thing. Stupid subconscious. Now for saying that, I’m gonna have a dream about a set of monkeys living in my childhood house and setting fire to it with a gallon of bleach and a twig.

    TA-DAAAAAAAAH.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

