Home > Uncategorized > Parenting 101 on CDTA 289

Parenting 101 on CDTA 289

I was sitting on the bus on my way down here when a man came on with his two daughters. The younger, who could not have been much older than eleven,nonchalantly turned to her father and said “I’m gonna miss you, Dad.”

There was no hint of regret or sadness in her voice. Here was a child that had become accustomed to the arrangement the two parents had; old enough to understand and process the predicament.

“Well I’m gonna miss you guys, too!” he replied. He was so light and cheerful in his response that it gave me even further pause.

I could not possibly know the circumstances behind the separation of the mother and father. I probably shouldn’t even presume that it’s a simple matter of a mother and father getting divorced. The circumstances don’t matter. What matters is that with a handful of words, I got all the important elements of their story: two young girls have a father that loves them. The father can’t give them everything he wants to give them, but it doesn’t weigh any of them down emotionally.

And he does more than try. There’s no “attempt” at being a good Dad. It just comes out of him naturally and with no affectations, just as his daughter’s words had.

It put a smile on my face on a day that I needed it. So thanks, Dad and little girls. Hope you have fun when you’re reunited next weekend.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 5, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    This story has now put a smile on MY face. Thank you for telling it so beautifully.

  2. Eric
    June 5, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Touching story until I remembered that CDTA 289 is the one they call the Orphanage Express.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

