Home > Uncategorized > Single Dad Moment

Single Dad Moment

This blog is an excuse to post this adorable picture.

Today I had a total “single Dad” moment, even though I don’t have any children.

I was at my sister’s folding my laundry, which I did at her house in lieu of wasting money at the laundromat. While folding the laundry, I noticed that my nephew Joey was in this little seat/toy contraption that they make for Moms to be able to put down babies. One of his sisters  had put him there, but then walked away because she had to answer her phone. So, naturally, he started crying.

And why wouldn’t he? Baby Boy is adorable and deserves attention 24/7.

So I picked up his little seat, brought it into the next room with me, and put it down in front of me while I folded laundry. I organized pants and shirts while he cooed and we had a conversation about what makes a man.

I saw my sister watching me from the kitchen while she was doing dishes.

“I just had a weird Future Dad moment,” I said.

“Yeah I know,” she replied. “I just had like this weird ‘looking into the future’ type feeling watching you do that.”

“Only if they ever find me,” I replied wistfully and with a bit of concern and dread. “Only if they ever find me…”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kim
    June 2, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I’m impressed by your ability to do laundry AND watch the baby at the same time. The only multi-tasking my husband has mastered is watching the baby AND playing video games. I’m going to have to work on this laundry thing… you’ve given me ideas for him. mwhahaha.

  2. June 2, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    In complete fairness to your husband, Joey is the most easy-going least demanding baby I’ve ever been around. Seriously, as long as he can see somebody and coo at them, he’s content.

  3. June 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    My son is one of the most easy going babies too! He just needs some music or a mirror and he’s all set.

    Kimmy…Kimmy Kimmy Kimmy…what am I gonna do with you?

    Get them ideas out of your head or YOU will be the one that gets put in the washing machine!! =)

    (Kevin, Kim is my lovely wife, FYI)

    • June 2, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      I knew exactly who she was! I can see her e-mail address! MWA HA HAAAAA

      Otherwise, I would’ve gathered by the fact that you threatened to stuff her in the washing machine. One only does that to those with whom they’ve made a lifelong commitment.

  4. Kim
    June 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    obviously Will is a little bitter that I have a laundry list of tasks waiting for him at home now 😛 (pun intended…gosh, i’m funny haha)

  5. June 2, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    See that there is what four years of college gets you…bad puns! =Þ

  6. June 2, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    That IS an adorable picture. And an adorable story. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

