Home > Uncategorized > So This Weird Thing Happened

So This Weird Thing Happened

Last night: was in the middle of a conversation. Suddenly got incredibly dizzy accompanied with headache, nausea, sweating, and confusion. I kept talking. I put my hand against a chair to prop myself up while I continued the conversation. The other person obviously didn’t notice, since he didn’t even make note of it. I recall I was able to wrap up the conversation, but not what I was saying. In fact, thinking back on it, I only remember about half of what was said.

Every step afterwards to my seat felt like a struggle. Since it was a public event, I was scared to death of making a scene. I made strides so as to not appear to be anything but confident and with it, hoping beyond hope that I wouldn’t just keel over suddenly. After what seemed like an eternity but was only about ten to fifteen seconds, I made it to my table and sat down. Still, I was sweating profusely and I noticed I’d gone partially deaf in my right ear. I got some water, sat for good long while, got some food, listened to the speakers, and mingled for forty-five minutes. My hearing came back in full and I stopped sweating. I was moving around fine.

I wanted to and had planned on staying longer, but I wanted to make sure it didn’t happen again. The rest of the night I just felt off. Since then, all I’ve had a lingering headache. Nothing crippling, but it hasn’t gone away.

Hopefully it’ll be gone by tomorrow morning. If not, it’s doctor time. But Jesus that was scary.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 19, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Anxiety/panic attack?

    • May 19, 2010 at 9:28 pm

      Nah, I know what that feels like. This was way different.

  2. KeeHawNuh
    May 19, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Sounds like a particularly bad migraine. My wife thought she was going blind one time when a nasty one hit her.

  3. Jessica R
    May 20, 2010 at 6:24 am

    That sounds very scary.
    Also, as someone who has had seizures before (not saying that’s what you had), the next time you start to feel this way, don’t worry about what it looks like, go find a seat and sit down, or, if possible, go lay down somewhere. Fainting is bad. Fainting and hitting your head is much worse.

  4. May 27, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I knew you were a little off that night. I’m sorry I didn’t realize how serious it was. I was quite warm myself, and had to sit down because I was a little light headed but not quite as much as you. I attributed it to the altitude, because it usually makes my ears pop when I’m up here everyday.

    I’m glad that it’s better, and you’re in good health. It was probably the humidity, a little exhaustion, and dehydration. Glad you’re better though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

