Home > Uncategorized > Long Days, But They’re Worth It

Long Days, But They’re Worth It

It’s been long days for a long week, but ultimately it’ll be rewarding when I know I at least gave a valiant effort towards helping to craft art and an evening of performance. It’s my hope that audience members will walk away with the feeling that every dollar of every ticket will have been justifiably spent. As I touched on before, I will quit if I don’t feel that to be the case.

Rehearsal ran late last night, so I awoke at the crack of dawn in order to get some minor work done and do laundry before work. After work, took the bus to Albany and fell asleep…again. At one point, I awoke to two hipsters boarding shortly before the Albany city limits. The bus was nary an eighth full, but they viewed the poverty towards the back (where I sat) and decided it’d be best for them to stand up front.

What brings about willful poverty’s disdain for poverty of circumstance? Hipsters want to be embraced for their perceived sense of sacrifice and simplicity for the sake of art and honesty. And yet, they know nothing of charity, community, and common decency.

The argument, of course, is that they put on no pretense of anything other than a lifestyle that is a simplified form of hedonism. But why bother? Looking, acting, and living poor will not assist one in this venture.

I was on the bus yesterday and one of the shoes I was bringing with me (as part of my costume) had fallen off. Without a moment’s hesitation, an impoverished gentleman behind me immediately snatched it up and gave it to me. Other times, I have had my hands full and dropped something, and watched as hordes of people walk by and watch without moving; as if they think their assistance will give me grave offense.

The willful poor do not have the sense of community and ability to look after each other that the poor of circumstance carry with them. Which is why it’s such a shame in a city like Troy that there are vast stretches of city and neighborhoods that seem to have been forgotten. They exist only as an idea or a punchline to a joke about urban decay made by twenty-somethings with a financial safety set that know nothing of what it’s like to go to bed or wake up wanting for anything.

Hipster scumbags. Emphasis on the “scumbags.”

My apologies for my surly mood. It’s set off by stress, exhaustion, anxiety, and college kids I saw digging through a bin of clothes intended for homeless families.

For further examination of the hypocrisy of the upper class, I urge you all to see The Importance of Being Earnest, presented by Confetti Stage, which opens this Friday. More info here.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ellie
    May 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Hipsters are also from middle to uppermiddle class backgrounds which often do disdain poverty. The Tea party movement is from the middle class. They assume that anyone can pull themselves up by their bootstraps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

