Home > Uncategorized > Hey Kevin Marshall, I Thought You Were Still Going to Update This You Big Liar

Hey Kevin Marshall, I Thought You Were Still Going to Update This You Big Liar

I was, I swear! I had so many great intentions. I was also going to get the ball rolling on Mixed Marshall Arts, but I really jumped the gun on it. While it got off to a great start, it also came on the heels of me being offered (and accepting) a blog page at the Times Union, which on top of all other responsibilities in my life has been much more time consuming than I anticipated.

Thing is, they’re not putting it on me, I’m putting it on myself. I’ve thrown myself into it, and I’m seeing the results. Even though I don’t get paid, I retain all copyrights and so far it’s been great exposure. I’ve also been able to raise some really fascinating discussions with readers beyond some of the more trite bulls*** you’ll traditionally see over there. There are some good ones, though, which are linked on the sidebar of the TU Blog (link: In the Present Tense).

I was expecting to be trolled a bit more, to be honest, especially with some of the hostility I met with and heard from some circles when I started. But thus far, it’s only been a couple of folks, one of whom I know through mutual friends and ho boy, do I not take that person’s judgement of my character as anything other than laughable and hypocritical. Particularly since the person keeps reading and commenting.

Other than that, this week we started rehearsals for Importance of Being Earnest. Mike Huber at the TU (the Interactive Audience Manager/Blog czar who’s a legit great guy) has encouraged me from the beginning to integrate that into my blogging. Thing is, I’m not sure how yet. I’ve established a pretty good “lifestyles” vibe and rhythm to it, and not sure where exactly my acting endeavors fit into it.

It’s also been hurting them. I’m not off-book as of this writing. Ideally I would have been yesterday, so to say that’s not a good thing is an understatement. Let’s just say I definitely need this weekend and can’t wait to get to a point where I have my s*** together (like that’s ever going to happen).

I’m off to rehearsal in Albany, and then tonight it’s off to The Linda to see The Hold Steady. Looking super forward to that concert. Of course, my brother the rock star messages me on Facebook and says “oh dude, I know Craig. Had no idea you liked The Hold Steady.”

Us Marshalls are just C and D-Level Celebrities wherever we go.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 7, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    You’re doing a great job…you’ll get used to it all soon. Looking forward to the next show. Keep us posted on details!

  2. April 7, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Thanks, doll. You’re the bestest.

  3. Maeve
    April 7, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I will keep trolling you until you take me seriously.

  4. Naomi
    April 7, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    You’ve been a blogging machine, Kevin, but you’re going to have to work harder if you want to be nominated for Worst TU Blog. If you need any lessons, you know where to find me. 😉

  5. Brittany
    April 7, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Hey! I’ve enjoyed keeping up with your exploits since we reconnected. If you have any free time and feel like cobbeling together a review of the hs show tonight, I’d love to feature it on my blog: http://www.straighttoplate.com

    🙂 have fun!

  6. April 8, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    If you really want to be trolled more, I guess I could pop over once in a while. I have a secret urge to troll hidden deep down inside.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

