Home > Uncategorized > I Wrote This Short Play & Had a Dream about Tarzan & The Terminator

I Wrote This Short Play & Had a Dream about Tarzan & The Terminator

I just finished the first draft of a short play I’ve been working on the last two weeks during my lunch breaks and what little free time I’ve had.

As a writer, I’m my own worst critic and a perfectionist. You hear a lot of people say that about whatever they do, but I truly mean it. I fight and debate with people who try to give me compliments, which truly frustrates them and, if they’re a friend, I’m sure makes them wonder if it’s really worth the effort it takes to maintain our relationship.

That said, I just finished the first draft and am completely happy with the results. As I typed the last words, a huge smile came across my face. That very rarely happens. As a matter of fact, I can’t remember the last time it’s ever happened. It’s an incredible feeling, and yet in the back of my mind I still think to myself that it’s most likely terrible. I just don’t care is all.

Speaking of incredible, I had this truly awesome dream last night.

I was out with friends to see a new movie: “Tarzan Versus The Terminator.” In the dream, I was marveling at the fact that this film was being made. The film started with Tarzan and his wife, Jane, inside an English mansion. They are talking, and a Terminator robot shows up.

A true clash of the titans.

The rest is a blur. Intermittently the dream would jump back and forth between the action (or lack there0f) and my reactions to it. I kept scoffing at things, and my friends and patrons around me were deriding me. Not for scoffing, but for disliking the movie. They kept telling me that this was incredible and I was insane for not liking it.

Back on the screen, Tarzan was making the difficult decision to turn his back on the life he had accepted as a nobleman and revert back to his ape-man persona. He made a phone call, and then a crate full of monkeys showed up. Then they all fought with The Terminator robot and won.

I then complained that there was no plot to this film, no discernible story, and that they should have at least had a brief montage in the beginning showing the past events of the Terminator and Tarzan movies. Then I complained that they should’ve just made a straight Tarzan movie instead, since nobody has in awhile! END OF DREAM.

And I woke up from this dream thinking, you know, of all the reboots and remakes that have been done lately, there hasn’t been a big-budget “Tarzan” franchise launched. I think that’s a missed opportunity, particularly if they go the “Legend of Greystroke” route. A lot of potential there, I’m sure.

Well, I’m off to drink more coffee and tweak around the short play a bit. Some potentially exciting stuff to come up in the next couple weeks, both on the personal end and stuff I’ll be announcing on here. Stay tuned!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Erin Morelli
    March 6, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    That sounds like the type of dream that I would have: very involved plot-wise but very nonsensical. I actually wrote a pretty great short-story based on one once. I feel like this Tarzan/Terminator idea needs to happen. Obviously it would have to include the montages at the beginning since your subconscious-self was clearly annoyed that there wasn’t one. I have this great vision of an action sequence where the a terminator is attempting to kill tarzan while he is swinging through the jungle.

    Also, congrats on the first draft! That’s super awesome that you’re happy with it! I know I’m almost never happy with the first draft of what I make. So, kudos!

    • March 6, 2010 at 9:52 pm

      What’s interesting is that I did not once in the dream question the idea of a Terminator vs. Tarzan movie. It didn’t present itself as a ridiculous and wholly stupid idea at all. Your description of that action sequence? That right there is the proof that it’s do-able, and I can totally picture that closing the epic trailer for this blockbuster film.

      And thanks! 🙂

  2. March 7, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Tarzan vs. Terminator sounds awesome. Awesome I tell you! You dream more entertaining movies than they make in real life… (provided your problems with the flick were fixed). 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

