Home > Uncategorized > How to Apologize Without Apologizing by John Mayer

How to Apologize Without Apologizing by John Mayer

Apparently John Mayer has decided that he hasn’t wrought enough damage to the fabric of society with his music, so he’s now engaged in a war on America with the spoken word.

For those of you that aren’t already aware (or don’t know the full story), John Mayer recently gave an interview to Playboy in which he may or may not have been intoxicated. During the course of the interview, he tried to be funny by being…well, completely racist.

You had to know I'd find the most haughty, d-baggy picture of Mayer possible for this post.

From the interview (with full context):

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sally
    February 11, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Yes. And I apologize for this becoming a huge Teal Deer.
    The problem is that he never once said he was sorry, not in his tweets and not in that video. As someone who has followed his music for nearly a decade, spoken to him, devoted a lot of time and energy to the guy/his music, I can say that it was sincere but it’s missing those two vital words: I’m sorry. And he has to admit he fucked up.
    It’s very hard to be his fan, not because of yesterday but in general. He’s become synonymous for putting his foot in his mouth. I was discussing this with a close-knit circle of fellow fans last night and we came to a conclusion that he wasn’t always like this. Us fans used to clamor for the information he’s willingly giving out now.
    And the fact that he sat on it for four months (the interview was given back in November)? He knew it was coming. Crying now only makes it seem insincere and doesn’t help his case.

    Gonna copypasta this for my own blog. I really wasn’t going to say anything about this because others said it best. But wow, apparently I had thoughts on the matter.

  2. Sally
    February 11, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Oh great, apparently I can’t edit my responses. But if I could, I’d include the fact that he actually apologized in a tweet: Re: using the ‘N word’ in an interview: I am sorry that I used the word.
    http://twitter.com/johncmayer/status/8920371378

    I was corrected by a fellow Mayer fan on my Livejournal. And then apologized by saying I’m sorry.

    • February 11, 2010 at 9:50 pm

      I hate to be the one to say it, but he’s coming across as a self-absorbed idiot because he is, and the reason you’re noticing it more is because he has more microphones being put in front of him than he did before.

      I was only half-joking at the end of my blog post (thanks for the link!). Mayer really is the self-absorbed a##hole boyfriend, and unfortunately his fans seem to be the girlfriends that keep making excuses for him and asking why he can’t be or act differently. He can’t because he isn’t. This is him.

      As for the tweet? Twitter is hardly the proper venue for a legit apology. He has a lot of followers, but let’s not overestimate the value of this service. His comments were in a publication that more people read than use Twitter, and the coverage extended far beyond. It deserved an equitable response, and didn’t get it. And it’s easy to apologize in less than 140 characters, a lot harder to do so in person while appearing sincerely humble and apologetic.

      Which he couldn’t, because he isn’t. He’s just sorry people took it the wrong way.

  3. mike
    February 11, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    The ego is a very powerful thing… for good and for evil, and it can’t always be good.

    Honestly, I don’t think he’s a racist, even though he said racist things. He’s just a megalomaniac who really thinks that his troubles are akin to Black America. He knows better, but he’s so absorbed in himself that he forgot. But that’s still a mistake and I agree that he should own up to it and rightfully apologize. Unfortunately for him, that’s a difficult thing for an ego to do.

  4. Eric
    February 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    In my heart, David Duke **** is the new editor of the Daily Bugle.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

