Home > Uncategorized > Bad Medicine: What I Need (oh whoa whoa)?

Bad Medicine: What I Need (oh whoa whoa)?

When it comes to safe and/or over the counter pills, how much is too much?

I ask because I currently take a multi-vitamin, Omega fish oil tablet, vitamin D-3 (400 IU), and vitamin E (200 IU) every day. I’ve also started taking ibuprofen 2-3 times a day for my knee. It got what I (and my doctor) assume was a little fluid in it from over-exerting myself during a run without stretching out properly, and while it’s slowly improving it still gets a little sore and funky if I’m on it too much.

Then, to combat an…unpleasantness derived from protein shakes, I purchased Beano at the suggestion of several folks who claimed it might remedy my…OKAY FARTS. You’re supposed to take 2-3 tablets right before consuming whatever it is that ails your digestive system. Myself, I take 2 of them.

This all in addition to the daily pill I take so that when I talk to my cat, she doesn’t talk back to me. Okay, that’s not what the medication’s for, but it’s also none of your damn business! I’m playing the HIPAA card, damnit!

So that’s eight to ten tablets or pills a day. I realize they’re not painkillers or anything, but it just strikes me as a lot.

Thoughts? Am I destined for Celebrity Rehab 4? And do I have to room with Andy Dick? Because I’ll hit him, I swear.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 26, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Here’s your “trust me, I’m in public health” response: as long as you’re not washing them down with a snifter of codeine cough syrup or using them as a heroin chaser, you’ll be safe from having Andy Dick call you Roomie. You’re not taking anything that has a side effect of your heart exploding, nor are you taking anything that multiple doctors out there aren’t saying you should. If it’s any reassurance, I take between 3-5.

    Plus, take into account that you won’t be doing the ibuprofen forever, and you could look into trying a different kind of protein shake. Whey protein is known to occasionally cause some, um, “unpleasantness”. Something like hemp or soy protein could be easier on your system.

    • January 26, 2010 at 12:39 am

      I’m thinking I might transition to soy protein. It’s just that I have this big jug to get through, and the stuff don’t come cheap, so I don’t just want to toss it away. You know?

      Thanks for the feedback!

  2. mike
    January 26, 2010 at 12:53 am

    I would recommend doing your research before switching to soy. I’m not advocating one way or another and I’m sure Laurel knows what she’s talking about, but there are also qualified folks out there who say soy isn’t good in large quantities and, if I remember right, one of the side effects is that it can be hard on the joints. Like I said, I’m not advocating one way or another… just something to look into. Another alternative is flax seed — high in protein and a bunch of other stuff, too.

  3. January 26, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Mike brings up a great point: there are tons of different proteins out there and a lot of information on each– so you have many options. And I’m totally on board with flax– it’s good for you and you can throw it into a million different things and it makes it better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

