Home > Uncategorized > It Goes On and On, My Friend

It Goes On and On, My Friend

So the run for Arcadia is over. It was, for the most part, a pleasant and educational experience. I’m not going to do one of those melodramatic musings where I run down each individual I worked with, write some far too kind words, and wrap it up with, har har, an inside joke. Instead, I’ll just say that I met some remarkable people who taught me quite a bit and in some cases made me me a better actor by virtue of having the honor of working with them. So to those reading that were involved, thank you all.

Since wrapping up on Saturday it’s been onwards and upwards with Confetti Stage’s 5th Annual Short Play Festival. I’m too tired right now to do a proper plug, but visit http://www.confettistage.com for more details and to purchase tickets. The first weekend features the premiere of the one-act that I wrote – Forebears of Bad News – and the second weekend features yours truly acting in two plays (Steve Henel’s Faint Hearts and Renee Day’s Until Death Do We Part).

If I weren’t so busy with trying to get down my lines and characters for the two plays I agreed to participate in, I’d probably be a bag of nerves over the fact that something I wrote is being performed on stage by real people in front of real people for the first time in my entire life. As it is, I spent a good part of this evening trying to get off-book for one of the short plays and dreading having to do the same for the other.

There’s no great trick for memorizing lines. It’s a simple process – read, recite, remember. I’ll be honest without trying to brag – it doesn’t in all honesty take a lot of man hours for me to get off-book for a play. The tough part is finding the time to do it, and even tougher is finding the patience for it. It gets even harder when you spot something that gets you working on another play or possibly even a novel, then you realize that you can’t even think about devoting serious time to working on that until you complete these other tasks on hand.

Yes, that happened to me today. It was equal parts enlightening and frustrating. However, I have a good idea of what I want to do with that, and will revisit it as soon as I can. Probably after the Short Play Festival is over.

In other news:

  • My family is wonderful.
  • I still suck at sports, but my physical coordination is a Hell of a lot better than it used to be.
  • After only going to the gym twice in two weeks (totally half-assing it each time) and eating like a madman, I somehow managed to not gain a single pound.
  • The Buffalo Bills are like a distant family member. You never hear anybody talk about or acknowledge them until a tragedy occurs.
  • I’ve been thinking about New York City a lot and need to get back down there ASAP.
  • I just listened to that new(ish) Jay-Z track with Alicia Keys. Man, I have to get my hands on an external hard drive to store music so I can snatch that s#!+ illegally off the internet buy it from my local label-friendly record shop.
  • I love Kanye West’s crazy ass. If I ever find a woman lucky enough to marry me, I’m inviting him to my wedding so he can jump up and yell out some crazy s#!+ during my vows about another wedding he attended.

Stay tuned, kids. More Kevin Marshall fun is coming your way.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sally
    September 16, 2009 at 12:53 am

    If I ever find a woman lucky enough to marry me,
    I love that you phrase it that way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

