Home > Uncategorized > It’s Almost Over

It’s Almost Over

Well, that went by too damn quickly.

For those of you who may not know – which is most likely almost all of you reading this since I didn’t exactly advertise it – I was on vacation all this week. At one point we were supposed to have a family get-away, but an illness and other factors compounded and prevented that from happening. So instead I ended up with what can only be described as a “staycation.”

I just died a little inside after using the word “staycation.” Christ, there it is again. I think that second time shortened my lifespan by about fifteen years.

I’d hoped to get so much accomplished. In particular I was hoping to be completely off-book by the end of the week for Arcadia, which goes up the first two weekends of September (4th – 6th, 11th, and 12th). It was about as successful as one can expect with my strained attention span trying to memorize 19th century English verbiage. Don’t get me wrong: I made progress, but there’s no way I’m going to be ahead of the curve like I wanted to be. August 1st, your approach is dreaded.

Oh, I’d also wanted to touch up the play that was submitted for Confetti Stage’s 5th Annual Short Play Festival. Unfortunately it didn’t even get looked at. Also, can I express my frustration real quick? I submitted two plays: one that I worked on for literally months, and the other that I wrote in essentially three hours. Guess which one got in? Yep. My creative well runs deepest in a downpour.

On the plus side, I discovered that I’m now able to run two – count ’em TWO – miles uninterrupted. It still sucks, but it’s a huge step forward for somebody who at this time last year was up to a pack and a half a day. Hell, even just a few months ago I’d probably make it all of three blocks. I also managed to peep “Public Enemies,” which is reviewed in the previous post.

Now it’s already Friday, I’m freaking out about the fact that I have to go back to work on Monday, and I feel wholly unaccomplished. But at least I got to sleep nine hours a day.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

