Home > Uncategorized > Sometime I Take Memes Too Far, and This is One of Those Times – The “Five Things” Meme

Sometime I Take Memes Too Far, and This is One of Those Times – The “Five Things” Meme

Wow, two posts in as many days! Unbelivable, no? In case you missed it, I saw and reviewed “Watchmen,” which is the next post down. Long story short – I was very very mean, perhaps too much so, to Zack Snyder. I’m pretty sure that if he reads it, he’ll feel so bad he’ll commit suicide by jumping off his fat wallet.

Anyway…

Comment to this post and I will give you five subjects/things I associate you with. Then post this on your LJ and elaborate on the subjects given.

Maeve tagged me for this about two weeks ago, but as you all know I was in the midst of my unintentional three-week radio silence (as far as this blog is concerned). She commented that I was tricky, because most of the stuff she’d associate with me would involve inside jokes. I’d have been more than happy to explain, but perhaps it’s better we didn’t go that route. Like the tumultuous forces of powerful emotions contained within Pandora’s Box, it’s best that inside jokes be kept on the inside. Okay, in reality, they’d just be funny to me and her.

Anyway, the five words she provided:

MOVIES
In some ways movies have supplanted other areas of my geekdom, in particular professional wrestling. It’s not that I’m just now discovering movies, but in the past year I’ve written about them on a more frequent basis on this blog.

I suppose that my interest in the process of movie-making itself has increased dramatically as well. I could say that it started the first time I saw “Citizen Kane,” but really it began with getting a Netflix account and discovering a love for all things Akira Kurosawa. I realize that sounds painfully pretentious, even though I try my best not to be (I’m not one who’ll ever drop money on something just because the word “Criterion” appears on the DVD cover).

I will admit that I’m fairly particular with my tastes and tend to judge films a lot harsher than I used to. I’m bothered by cynics who rather than demand more for their dollar at the movie theater will simply resign themselves to Hollywood turning out schlock and react by bringing down their tastes to a level where they can find more films acceptable in terms of quality. Mind you, I’m not one to live under the pretense that all mainstream film was great up until ten years ago, then it started sucking. That’s dumb and naive. What I am noticing is that people whose opinion I highly respect in other areas have allowed the lowering of the bar to lower their expectations.

But yes. I love movies. If I could turn back the clock ten years, I would’ve nipped my drinking in the bud a lot sooner and pursued an education in film. Of the many things I regret, that’s a biggun.

JOURNALING
I suppose now it’d be Twittering, since I do that with far more regularity.

I don’t know if it’s necessarily a bad thing that I don’t update this thing as often as I used to. I’m sure I have far fewer readers than I used to due to the fact that I do occassionally go upwards of two to three weeks without updating. However, I’m finding when I do update that I’m a bit more pleased with the outcome. I’ve never been one to blog for the sake of blogging, even if it came across as such at times. And as hard as this may be for many people to believe, I have never – not once – ever written something in this blog with the idea that anybody other than folks I already know will read it. I’ve never written something thinking to myself “I want the entire internet to see this.” Like so many other things, it’s something I do for myself and to fulfill my creative void. Speaking of which…

PERFORMANCES
I’ve been clowning it up for as long as I can remember. It’s led me to dabble in certain areas, in particular acting and to a far lesser extent singing.

This is going to come across as weird, but it’s true – I enjoy performing but don’t particularly enjoy having an audience. The explanation I’ve come up with is that, undeniably, an unhappy childhood and a multitude of insecurities from an early age contributed to my habit of clowning around in social situations. It’s one thing to have a sense of humor, but I definitely put on a show, particularly in situations like school where I never felt comfortable in the least. The unfortunate part is that it worked and got me friends, which wa sort of like rewarding a dog for bad behavior.

As I got older and faced down various demons (the biggun being the whole alcoholism thing that damn near killed me), I was forced to confront a lot of issues. One of them was the idea that I’d use humor and sarcasm as a defense mechanism, and that none of the humorous antics I’d perform would really make me smile. I was able to accept and work on it to a point where I’m able to have an exchange with someone that involves laughter, rather than putting on a performance for a single person or a group of people.

The end result, though, is that some habits are hard to break and I still have the itch to perform. Only it’s not for acceptance, so I don’t really care for too many people to see me act or hear me sing.

No, really, I’m a little fucked up. Nobody who’s known me for any significant amount of time should be surprised by that revelation.

COMIC BOOKS
Ahhh, comics.

I’m not going to bother trying to defend the medium or point out examples of exemplary storytelling using the “comic book” interface to the eventual smart-ass who regularly deride the medium and completely disregards it, which is something that shouldn’t be done with any medium (another big target is television). Although, in fairness, comic books fans really don’t have to do that anymore with the influx of comic book adaptations of the past decade that have appeared on the big and small screen. Of course, this doesn’t mean so many more people read comic books, but it does mean that there isn’t quite as much of a stigma attached to it.

I started reading comics at a very, very young age. The first ones I read were my brothers “G.I. Joe” comics, which I browsed through and then destroyed with a set of markers. I started reading in earnest with “Amazing Spider-Man.” I’m too lazy to look up the date and issue number, but it was a standalone story where Spider-Man battled a giant robot called the “Tri-Sentinel” and was imbued with the powers of Captain Universe due to some aspect of the robot’s construction that endangered the entire galaxy. Yes, pure cheese, but what little kid WOULDN’T think that’s cool?

As the 90s wore on, I got worn out by what I realize now was bad editorial decisions, too many crossovers, and poor writing. The last comics I bought on a regular basis was James Robinson’s “Starman,” which remains my favorite series ever. I came back in about six years ago, picked up some comics here and there, and started again around the time DC brought in novelist Brad Meltzer to write “Identity Crisis.” I stuck around for a few more months, disappeared from the comics shop for two years, and came back in with a vengeance due to the efforts of writers like Brian Bendis, Ed Brubaker, and Geoff Johns.

In short, I love comics.

“TROY
, WHAT?!”

Sorry, I had to.

It’s the city where I grew up and currently reside. For all the comments people make about the city, which took a hard fall from grace due to the economic strife of the late 70s and some epic municipal mismanagement throughout the 1980s and 1990s, there are far worse places to live in this area (let alone the State or the nation as a whole). And it’s making a comeback of sorts, or at least we have something resembling a downtown that gives us something interesting and different on weekends.

Not that I want to stay here. There’s just far worse places to be right now.

Annnnd that’s that. Remember, if you want your five words, you gotta reply (as stated in the instructions at the very beginning of this entry).

  1. March 10, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Worse places to live in the area? Kingston. Troy is like the fucking world center compared to Kingston.

    • March 10, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      Also Cohoes (right across the river), Green Island (also right across the river), Schenectady (from what I hear from folks who have lived there and in Troy)…the list goes on.

      Every city has its problems and shady political dealings. I think people work under the misapprehension that Troy is a terrible place to live simply because it’s not Albany, and those same people don’t realize that living in Albany presents its own unique set of challenges. And has a much higher crime rate, particularly in its schools.

    • March 10, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      Also, I can’t tell you the last time I heard someone from Kingston talk about it without inserting some form of vulgarity/expletive in their statement.

  2. March 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Me me gimme gimme. I’m a sucker for memes that let me be all, “WOO, IT’S ME!!!!”

    Ahem.

  3. March 11, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Gimme. Just don’t include Elda’s. My friend did that and she lives out in Chicago! Never even been! This was after Maeve gave it to me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

