Home > Uncategorized > Sometimes it’s okay to ignore things you don’t like.

Sometimes it’s okay to ignore things you don’t like.

I should start by noting that in addition to it being Valentine’s Day, it’s also a very special someone’s birthday. So happy birthday, Meg Tilly and Hugh Downs and Florence Henderson and the Ghost of Jack Benny! And most importantly, my Mom. 😉

It’s officially Valentine’s Day. I marked the occasion by taking some Liquid Tylenol Night-time Warming Cough & Sore Throat medicine. Did you know they make a non-alcohol version of that stuff now? I saw it in the store and was like "SCORE!"

Anyway, I slowly ingested a capful of the stuff to relieve the sore throat I have from the latest outbreak of strep and decided to pass the time until it conked me out by checking out all the Twitter and blog posts from friends I’d missed during the course of the day and evening. Lo and behold, I was bombarded with everything from bad one-liners to lengthy rants about how much people hate hate HATE Valentine’s Day.

Oh my God. I love you all, but please shut the f*** up already.

Listen, it’s not that I dislike you for posting your cynical or hostile views and approach to the holiday, nor do I entirely fault you for it. Hell, I’m not even a proponent or staunch defender of the holiday myself, even though the lady and I will be observing it in our own way. It’s just that, Christ, I’m just tired of seeing the same predictable shit coming out of the same people every year.

The "Net 2.0" movement has encouraged everyone to act as an Online Andy Rooney, and as such there’s simply no avoiding the curmudgeonly rantings and ravings of folks who hate the holiday because they’re single and/or they think it’s cool or unique to hold this view. Know what’d be cool and legitimately unique? If people actually IGNORED the holiday like they claim to rather than just saying they are and then going on to complain about it ad nauseum.

Again, I remind you all that I don’t blame some of you for being unhappy or seeing this as a "Hallmark holiday." However, at least put a little effort into it, and I mean something beyond just telling us why you hate the holiday. Your views on the holiday aren’t nearly as unique as you think they are, and more often than not it reads like a broken record. Besides, the use of the phrase "crass commercialization" or any variance thereof is SO ten years ago. EVERYTHING is commercialized, co-opted by advertising agencies, and marketed to death. Why don’t we see these posts every day, with the same level of animosity and venom towards everything in American society? HMM? C’mon, Unabomer, keep your criticisms consistent!

I kid because I love. And because in reading a lot of this stuff, I shake my head because I know y’all are better than this.

All that being said, and in direct conflict with my earlier statement about keeping things fresh, I urge you all to check out this entry from February 2007 outlining the typical blog entries one sees on this holiday. Enjoy!

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. February 14, 2009 at 7:26 am

    I admit I am guilty of bashing Valentine’s day every year. I find it too demanding and off putting of a day.

    Yes, I know it’s a day honoring the spirit of Love (as brought forth by St. Valentine), but I think it’s not focusing on love and just latching on to sentimentality, which in moderation is a good thing, but in abundance a fricking nightmare.

    Now, this year is the 80th anniversary of the Valentine’s Day Massacre, which is a unique part of our American history, as well as personal history (Several of the older men claimed to have known the deceased). I believe it’s something worth celebrating, or at least reflecting on

    Do I agree with you that we take too much joy bashing The Chocolate Holiday? Yes. Do I think it brings it upon itself though? Absolutely.

    It’s a give and take thing

    Happy V-Day to you and LB

  2. February 14, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Tom and I don’t do Valentines, and never have, but we *did* get married a week before Valentines Day, so we still have an excuse to celebrate something in February. And god knows February needs and excuse for celebration.

    • February 14, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      Lincoln’s birthday!

    • February 14, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      Wait, AND Groundhog’s Day. Why ARE there so many seemingly useless holidays in February? Is it because it’s the coldest month?

      • February 14, 2009 at 5:40 pm

        Because Suicide Prevention day is less fun and upbeat a day to celebrate?

      • February 14, 2009 at 8:48 pm

        Darwin Day’s another one. Not that I did anything special that day, either. I pre-emptively took your advice this year and didn’t complain at all about Valentine’s Day (though I hate it and if asked why, I’d gladly share the reasons). Anyway, enjoy your V.D., er… V-Day.

      • February 15, 2009 at 4:38 am

        Probably because the month needed some padding to cushion the impact both of our birthdays had on the world.

      • February 15, 2009 at 3:16 pm

        That must be it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

