Home > Uncategorized > John Hancock Wrote a Large Signature so That the Entire Big 10 Conference Could See It

John Hancock Wrote a Large Signature so That the Entire Big 10 Conference Could See It

It’s “Signing Day,” which means all the sports writers around the nation are live-blogging the movers and shakers in the world of 18-year-old kids who might get a chance to play football starting next Fall for a college/university and maybe in four years be selected in a “lottery” that will maybe translate to them getting a chance to see some playing time in the NFL.

It seems like I’m being unfair, but I think it’s kind of ridiculous that there are not only headlines regarding “Signing Day” in college football, they’re also quite prevalent. It sounds dismissive to say they’re just kids, but man, they’re just kids. They’re literally not even out of High School, and already they’re being written about and their decisions examined akin to a move made on a chessboard rather than as a life-altering decision for the signee.

I’m not trying to crucify sports writers as a whole, even if I tend to have a little fun with their obsessive nature, lack of journalistic filter, and the diluge of dated pop culture references that come with their often poor attempts at humor and analysis. Sorry, where was I? Oh, yeah, I’m totally not saying that sports writers are terrible human beings for feeding into the concept of “Signing Day.” I do think, however, that what and how they examine recruiting in college football is something wholly arbitrary and inconsequential.

Although, as much as I like the NFL, I’m not a guy that can sit through the live draft past the first handful of picks. So maybe it’s just me.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. February 4, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Yeah, hearing about Mike Golic’s kid was fun enough just because Mike & Mike is how I usually wake up at home. But otherwise? There’s really no earthly reason to give a shit beyond “Oh this guy who I follow on TV has a dog in this fight”

  2. February 5, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Being a sports fan but not one of a crazy, obsessive nature like this with college football (or basketball) I’m with you.

    That said, I’m a first two rounds of the NFL Draft kind of guy and if there’s really nothing to watch on day two I might peek in, but I find that being a Detroit Lions fan and a Syracuse college football fan are two effective ways of nullifying off-season interest in football.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

