Home > Uncategorized > House of Yes & the Weather

House of Yes & the Weather

Firstly, ALL REMAINING PERFORMANCES ARE GOING FORTH AS SCHEDULED FOR HOUSE OF YES!

Friday, December 12th @ 8pm TONIGHT!
Saturday, December 13th @ 8pm
Sunday, December 14th @ 2pm

Albany Masonic Hall
67 Corning Place
Albany, NY


Tickets can be ordered & printed out off the website instantaneously, or purchased at the door.  Don’t worry – there’s plenty available!

Thankfully there were no plans at any point to cancel tonight, despite the weather we got this morning and power outages some of us are experiencing in this area (more on that below).  I did threaten, though, that come Hell or high water there’d be a performance of some sort.  If they cancelled, I was going to just show up and perform an original one-man show by candlelight ("Josef Stalin:  In His Own Words").

So yeah, we got hit with a pretty hellacious ice storm overnight.  We lost power at my house between 2:00am and 2:30am.  My roommate Addie was awake at the time and kind enough to wake me up to let me know that the power had gone out to make sure my cell’s alarm was set – which it wasn’t, so I’m thankful for that.

I woke up to three surprises.  The first was a waking up to a phone call from my Supervisor telling me that her power was out, trees were down all over her place, she had no running water, and she wasn’t going to be able to make it in.  The second surprise came while still on the phone with my Supervisor, where I got my bearings and discovered our power was STILL out.  Third surprise was that I forgot to change the time on my cell’s alarm clock, and as a result it was already 7:45am.  So out went my chance to get to the gym to do my morning cardio.

So here I sit, cranky because I didn’t get my workout in.  The precipitation is letting up, I guess, but the big issue as mentioned earlier is the power outage.  While I have hot water and was able to do my hair this morning by candlelight, my apartment is without electricity and subsequently without heat (most thermostats work on electricity dontchaknow).  The word I’m hearing is that at the very least it’s going to be another day or two before electricity is restored in my neighborhood.

I’ve already called my roommates, since both are home today, and informed them that they should make plans – just in case – to stay elsewhere tonight.  Thankfully both have family in the area.  I’m not sure what I’m doing or where I’m going yet, but I know I have places at least.

So yeah.  To those of my friends in the area, here’s hoping you have a way to keep warm tonight if we don’t have our power restored.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. December 12, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Let me know if you need a place. I’m not around the corner, but I have heat and I like to cuddle.

  2. December 12, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    We lost power for about 12 hours, it just came back on. We were definitely getting worried (about our pipes mostly). We didn’t even get ice, but apparently the wind was enough. I hope you guys get power back on soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

