Home > Uncategorized > New Bloggin Project – “FIVE STARS”

New Bloggin Project – “FIVE STARS”

It’s a lame one, but here it is:

I was talking to my good friend Jess the other night (whom I’ve reconnected with in the past couple months – and boy am I glad I did) about Netflix ratings. In particular, we were discussing what warranted a three star rating. Because really, it’s sort of awkward…how do you define that middle ground?

For me, my rating system for Netflix DVD goes by the following criteria:
ONE STAR – Undeniably bad, and something I see as having no redeeming value whatsoever.
TWO STARS – Just bad, but clearly not one of the worst films ever made. Sometimes I’ll give this film a rating out of spite; I know, for instance, that “The Departed” is probably a three-star film. But for how far it shows Scorcese to have fallen as a filmmaker and how badly it fell apart in the third act, I gave it two.
THREE STARS – Good. I most likely enjoyed it, but not enough to even think to recommend it to somebody else.
FOUR STARS – I loved it and would recommend you see it.
FIVE STARS – It’s a personal favorite and/or I consider it required viewing.

Mind you, I make no pretense about my judging criteria…it doesn’t mean that I necessarily think YOU’LL like the movie. But, rather, it’s based on my own personal tastes, as every personal rating system should be.

I went through the films/TV series I’ve given a rating of “five stars” to, and I realized that I could probably make a little blogging project out of it. So over the course of the next week or so, I’m going to list all the movies/television series I have rated as “five stars” on Netflix, along with a little description of why I think it’s essential viewing or why it’s a sentimental favorite of mine. Because why not? And really, aren’t you curious WHAT I CONSIDER TO BE THE BEST FILMS OF ALL TIME, which is what this really is but I’m too stubborn to admit it?

So…this week, the first installments of “FIVE STARS.” Because I need a reason to start writing in this space again, and this is as good as any.

But for now, I sleep.

Night!

P.S. For those curious and not on my friends list on Netflix, I get on total kicks…the last month, it was Woody Allen; this month, I realize for the first time in almost 27 years that I fucking love film noir.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. November 25, 2008 at 5:05 am

    Well…?

    Get started, Mister!

    • November 26, 2008 at 4:03 am

      Re: Well…?

      I am, I am!

    • November 26, 2008 at 4:03 am

      Re: Well…?

      (there needs to be more hours in a day…)

  2. November 25, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    i gave the Departed 2 stars as well. i was really disappointed when i saw that film.

    • November 26, 2008 at 4:04 am

      It’s seriously good to know I’m not on an island with that one. When I talk to everyone else I know who’ve seen it, they act like I’m crazy.

      Well, I am crazy. But the Third Act of that film sucked and Nicholson shouldn’t be commended just because he wasn’t a complete distraction.

      • November 26, 2008 at 3:42 pm

        I completely agree. I also gave Crash 2 stars, but I definitely feel on an island with that one. Everyone loves that movie. It won best picture. Am I the only one who thinks it ridiculous and cliched, sentimental drivel? I mean, I hate racism, too, but can you hit me over the head a little harder?

        Ok. I am crazy, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

