Home > Uncategorized > Halloween, Henry Rollins, Francis Has my Bike, and Working Out

Halloween, Henry Rollins, Francis Has my Bike, and Working Out

Ohhhh, what’s new what’s new what’s new.

Here’s the problem that I have with keeping up a regular online journal…or “blog”, if you will. The longer I go without updating, the more daunting to prospect of a new entry becomes. Part of it is that I don’t want to leave certain people or events out, but I also don’t even know where to begin.

Like this entry, for instance? I wrote the first line and let it sit there for a full twenty minutes, completely untouched. Not that I stared at the computer screen for that entire time, mind you, but I did give up after about thirty seconds and left to do some other stuff. Then I came back and said “oh yeah, I was going to write a new entry.”

Firstly, I took a friend out last night to see Henry Rollins at The Egg last night. It was three hours and though my ass disagreed with me, it went by very quickly. As great as it is to see a 50-year-old punk rocker turned world traveler extol the virtues of multi-culturalism and fighting famine worldwide while peppering in comments about Bush and Palin, it was also a slightly depressing kick-in-the-ass reminder that I’m not doing a single thing that I want to be doing with my life. The only other complaint I have is 19-year-old kids present at the show who would scream loudly at the mention of certain bands. Yeah, assholes, we know who they are too. Nobody’s impressed.

Afterwards I went with the girl I brought to the show, svexsal, and a couple of their friends to a bar. I didn’t end up staying long because I was tired, cranky, and the whole not drinking thing. A couple quick observations, though:
– As awful as all the Sarah Palin costumes were (seriously, shame on you if you went in that direction this year), they were trumped by one costume I saw that accompanied a Palin: John McCain. It’s not the fact that somebody dressed up as John McCain, but that it was a woman who didn’t even bother to gray her hair or try to age herself in any way. When somebody at our table yelled out to the girl dressed as Sarah, her friend said “WHAT ABOUT ME, BITCHES?! I’M GOING TO BE PRESIDENT!” Since she was…well let’s say a bit obese and bore a striking resemblance to a character from one of my favorite films of all time, I simply had to remark to svexsal that I had no idea Francis from “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure” was running for President. On a quick sidenote, the idea of campaign commercials with the slogan “give us back our bikes, Francis” fills my heart with joy.
– Wearing an actual mask out to a bar? Even on Halloween, it’s super sketch and makes you look like a total sexual predator.

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: call me Danny Glover, because I’m too old for this shit.

Another positive for the week (other having front-row tickets to see Rollins – the girl I brought was highly impressed and I have Val Portanova to thank for that) is that I’ve managed to hit the gym for at least an hour for four consecutive days. Hell, today I even went for an hour, left for a meeting, and went back for another hour. I do have to say that in looking at myself naked in the mirror, I’m more likely to fuck myself now than I would have been six months ago.

Now I just have to figure out how to fit in all the gym time I want into my schedule the next few weeks, what with rehearsals for the play starting up. My dilemma is that the higher ed institute I work for? Their gym hours during the week start at 7:00am. Which is great, except I want to get in a full ninety minutes minimum and I go in to work at 8:30am. That means depending on what time rehearsals are during the week, I might have to end up doing the whole “late night workout” thing, which might be a bit counter-productive to me being healthier and getting more sleep. I mean, I suppose I could hit it up for an hour in the morning and then an hour at night, but I’d sort of prefer to have an uninterrupted session.

…okay, listen, I do have very real problems and dilemmas. This is just the easiest one to write about and work out in my own head.

Speaking of the play, I’m going to wrap this up so I can go study the script and continue trying to get off-book by tomorrow night. I even had a cup of coffee a half-hour ago to keep myself up late tonight to accomplish the task. Speaking of which…

Confetti Stage presents the regional premiere of…
THE HOUSE OF YES
December 5, 6, 11, 12, & 13 at 8:00pm ▪ December 7 & 14 at 2:00pm
Albany Masonic Hall, 67 Corning Pl.

Tickets on sale NOW! Go to

  1. November 2, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Rollins is very entertaining. He did about 3 hours last time I saw him, too, and I stuck around afterwards to get a book signed and chat for a minute. He’s so much smaller up close. Considering how few TNO activities I ended up doing, aside from the afterparty, I probably could have gone this time, too.

  2. November 2, 2008 at 5:17 am

    I will not apologize! You didn’t see how epically awesome my 1984 dress was.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

