Home > Uncategorized > Spread Some Good Will

Spread Some Good Will

In an f-locked post, a friend of mine here on LJ (who can identify him/herself if s/he so wishes) mentioned that s/he was unloading a bunch of clothes to the Salvation Army, partially inspired by fashion guru Tim Gunn’s advice that if you haven’t worn anything in a year you should toss it.

I did the very same thing a couple weeks ago and brought stuff over to Joseph’s House – literally two large and one small garbage bag full of clothes that were either too big for me (with all the weight loss) or that I knew I wouldn’t get that much use out of.

I mention this not to say “oh hey, look how much weight I’ve lost compounded with how great of a humanitarian I am,” but rather to encourage all of you to do the same. Particularly with the economic climate we’re in, the effect it’s going to have on folks (particularly since we have yet to feel the worst of the after-effects), and a winter season that will likely break records in terms of energy costs.

All these factors basically translate to a lot of folks whom are hanging by a thread onto the poverty line seeing that thread stretch and in some cases snap. Many more people in the next six months to a year will be utilizing homeless shelters for housing and/or donations.

With that in mind, I urge all of you to take time this weekend to search through your closets, attics, etc. to find good clothes you know you aren’t going to use and donate them to your local homeless shelter, Salvation Army, Goodwill, or what have you.

It’ll be far too late for many if we decide to do what the vast majority of us (include myself) do, which is to not think of the less fortunate until Thanksgiving or Christmas. Be proactive. And hey, if you need a selfish reason? It’ll help you get your house/apartment cleaner and more organized.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. October 21, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    It was me!
    Oh and where is Joseph’s House? This was a notable post for you to make!

    • October 22, 2008 at 4:06 am

      Ferry Street in downtown Troy, New York.

  2. October 21, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    And you should know that I’m quite vain – so I love for shoutouts.

    And quite frankly, “oh hey, look how much weight I’ve lost compounded with how great of a humanitarian I am,” should’ve been the title of either your or my entry. I’m quite fine with this 🙂

    • October 22, 2008 at 4:07 am

      We are drop-dead sexy humanitarians.

      YOU HEAR THAT, WORLD? FUCKING SEXY! AND WE GIVE IN MORE WAYS THAT ONE! YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

      • October 22, 2008 at 4:12 am

        See? Fuck the hatahs.
        I don’t recall ordering hatorade!

  3. October 21, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    That’s kinda funny; I did that with some stuff two weekends ago that was too big or too small or too young.

    • October 22, 2008 at 4:07 am

      Good. The more people we can get moving on this sort of thing, the better.

      • October 22, 2008 at 5:19 am

        I think so too. Besides, who needs that tweed micro-mini with the pleated fringe? Honestly, at 27 I am too fucking old to wear it.

      • October 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

        I don’t know if I’d go that far. I mean, my ass still looks fabulous in it.

      • October 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

        OHHHHH you mean yours. Right, right.

  4. October 23, 2008 at 1:01 am

    Well Said KMarsh

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

