Home > Uncategorized > Kevin Marshall Quits Smoking: Day 4

Kevin Marshall Quits Smoking: Day 4

I’m sure there will be a point where I’ll stop giving updates every day about my journey to permanently label myself a non-smoker, but it’s at least giving me incentive to write. Which isn’t as important for my creative outlets as it is to you, my readers, whose lives fall apart and collapse in on themselves when they go more than forty-eight hours without an update.

Well, it’s Day 4 and still no cigarette. I panicked a bit today, since I somehow managed to put the patch onto my arm before getting in the shower to get ready for work today. This resulted in one of the most awkward showers I’ve ever had (not involving somebody else), where I had to clean myself while making sure my patch didn’t get wet. To be honest, I’m not even sure if anything would happen if it did, but with seven hours of work ahead of me I didn’t want to take any chances.

I’ve had bouts of dizziness the past few days. They haven’t been to the degree that I lose balance or anything, just the faintest tinge of it. In reading up on it, I found out that this is due to an increase in clean oxygen intake that the body of a smoker who’s quitting isn’t accustomed to. How fucking weird is that?

A friend suggested that people might tart calling me Kevin “Vertigo” Marshall. If that happens? I’m going to find a way to make the rest of the world as dizzy as I am.

Speaking of villainous declarations you usually only see in comic books, apparently there’s a “Mortal Kombat vs. The DC Universe” video game coming out. I had no idea of its existence, but this excerpt from the Wikipedia entry has me a bit worried:

“Ed Boon has said that some of the characters’ abilities, especially on the DC side, have been toned down to make them balanced within the game. A case of this, Ed Boon mentioned, is that Superman is no longer as invulnerable as he usually is, for example he may now be hurt by Scorpion’s spear.”

Superman hurt by Scorpion’s spear? That’s fucking BULLSHIT. The only good thing that could come out of this is the inclusion of The Joker as a playable character. There’s a video HERE. The game itself looks sorta shitty, but I do love that fatality. Skip ahead to 0:55, or check out the moving GIF (after the cut).

Of course, as cool as that aspect of the game is, it also brings about a whole new set of problems. Among the DC characters represented in the game are Batman, Shazam, Superman, The Flash, and Green Lantern. Meaning they have fatalities. Shazam killing people? BULLSHIT THE SECOND.

Why the Hell even bother with this concept? You’d have to be a time traveler from the year 1994 to be excited about this monstrosity.

Part of me is really motivated to go running tomorrow morning, which would be the first run since getting off the sticks. We’ll see if I’ll actually have the energy and motivation to do so.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. August 25, 2008 at 5:07 am

    couple of things

    1) It’s actually good to record your status in regard to the changes in your body. I’m fascinated by chemical changes and withdrawl symptoms as a psychologist in training.

    3) Everything you’ve said seems to be normal, including the dizziness and sex drive. I had a friend quit every time I hung out with him, and he was barely able to maintain himself *while* smoking.

    4)Yes, I skipped 2, why? Because it sucks

    5)Midway whored out it’s franchise years ago. They haven’t been great since Mortal Kombat The Movie 2: In search of a plot, came out. The games became more cartoon and less cool. So what if they added every Style and Weapon known to man? The games sucked.

    6)If you do plan on running, be careful, especially if you’re feeling dizziness.

    • August 26, 2008 at 1:26 am

      1) I’ve been through some withdrawal. With the patch, this has been a comparative cakewalk.

      5) You know, I’m starting to wonder if the games were ever really that good, or if we were just totally taken with the concept. I’m curious to hear from younger gamers who haven’t played any of the early MK games before what they think of the early ones (the first 3) after playing them.

      • August 26, 2008 at 2:58 am

        Gotcha, sir.

        You’re right though, it’d be interesting to see how the kids would react to the first three games. I remember the first one coming out onto the arcades. We’d play in the backrooms of candy stores for a while, it was a revolution at the time

  2. August 25, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Seeing as how I’ve suffered from chronic vertigo for the past 3 or so years, we could be the vertigo twins! Stopping the villians of Albany one lightheaded stumble at a time!

    ….

    Ok, that was a little retarded. In all seriousness, I’d say to keep documenting your progress/thoughts/feelings on this, because its an interesting read for those of us who haven’t gone through an experience like this, and once you’re in a comfortable enough place to call yourself a non-smoker, you’ll be interested in reading back on at least parts of these posts.

    Try eating/drinking something with ginger in it, as its a common thing for the vertigo part. I’d say to watch the caffine intake, but quitting smoking is hard enough without cutting back on coffee at the same time.

    • August 26, 2008 at 1:06 am

      …..aren’t you allergic to ginger?

      • August 26, 2008 at 1:23 am

        Me or her?

        Because I’m definitely not.

      • August 26, 2008 at 2:54 am

        Yeah, I’m deathly allergict to it. My reactions to it have ranged from a rash to really scary throat closing up. Which sucks, because I hear thats its very good for vertigo, but it could kill me or cause a lot of pain or worse.

  3. August 25, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    I love the posts. I’d also love to know what’s cool for me to report in public and what isn’t. Seth is being a little bitch about the Patch, as he is with most medical things. (It’s even a chore to get him to take a Tylenol.) Letting him know that side effects don’t totally cripple you would be awesome.

    • August 26, 2008 at 1:22 am

      Hey, they ain’t private posts! It’s all an open book.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

