Home > Uncategorized > 7/8/08 – Tattoo Me

7/8/08 – Tattoo Me

See what I did? I took a fairly well-known Rolling Stones album and flipped it from second-person to first-person. It was really really clever. That being said, I was always more partial to “The Who”, hence the song selection for this entry (“Tattoo” by The Who).

Annnnyway, I’ve been contemplating a tattoo (or tattoos) for a few years, however have always strugged with what images I would be willing to accept being on my body permanently. I mean, it’s all well and good to have just stuff you like on there, but I don’t want to be one of those guys that regrets the tattoo he got of Wayland Flowers and Madame in the mid 70s.

There’s a chance I’ll actually pull the trigger before the end of the Summer. As such, I’ve been debating a few of them. Rest assured, I’m not going to get any of that pseudo-tribal bullshit that you see everywhere.

What follows are some of the potential designs I’m looking at. I may go with one, or two, or none of these; or I may go with something completely different. But at the moment, this is what I have in mind.

And yes, I’m a big dork. But no use in getting a tattoo that tries to state otherwise, no?

OPTION 1:

“GREEN LANTERN” INSIGNIA

I’ve always been a mark for Green Lantern, although I honestly think it’s far too safe and common of a choice. I put it here only as a slight option, but due to its frequency it’s the least likely of the potential tattoos.

OPTION 2:

“WATCHMEN” LOGO

Made popular by the ground-breaking miniseries by Alan Moore, which more or less demanded the term “graphic novel” come into use for comics that transcend the archetypes of the medium. Additionally, its design is such that it stands out on its own without having to note what it’s from.

OPTION 3:

ORSON WELLES

I’ve just always loved this picture of Welles. Partially a joke in terms of what he had become at this point in life, but also serious in that I always loved his work and I think it’s a great headshot.

OPTION 4:

JACK KNIGHT/STARMAN TATTOO

James Robinson’s “Starman” comic, which ran in the mid to late nineties, was always my favorite. The image above was the most prominent of the numerous tattoos the character had. Plus, I always sort of liked the design.

OPTION 5:

THE VENTURE BROTHERS

I’d definitely opt out of the orange background. I’m not sure if I’d include the “V” or not, though I think it might be a necessity. Unfortunately, actual characters don’t lend themselves well to tats, as LV pointed out to me. So INSTEAD, why not something related to the show but not depicting any actual characters? How about in lieu of the above as a tattoo, I instead opt for…

…YEAH, baby. YEAH.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. July 8, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    I vote for the Guild logo. Or the Watchmen logo. Maybe eventually both.

  2. July 8, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    ORSON WELLES! ORSON WELLES!

  3. July 8, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I don’t really have an opinion; I’m not a tattoo guy. But you could always ask an expert.


    • July 8, 2008 at 7:29 pm

      I hate you. Especially because you’re right; I can’t have the same tat as THAT dude.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

