Home > Uncategorized > TV Show meme

TV Show meme

Lifted from lootsfoz:

Empire Magazine has revealed its list of the “50 Greatest TV Shows” ever. Below is the list and here be the rules.

1. Bold the shows of which you’ve watched every episode
2. Italic the shows of which you’ve seen at least one episode
2a. Star the shows you consider “the best” (Addition by tidesong)
3. Post your answers

Kevin’s note – I had no idea what “Empire Magazine” was when I first read this meme, but looking at what was number 2 on the list I knew it HAD to be British (which Googling confirms it is). They’re fucking enamored with Buffy for some reason. It’s a good show, don’t get me wrong, but I’d say it’s a stretch to call it the best show of all time…the Brits, on the other hand, will tell you that with a straight face and a steel resolve.

50. Quantum Leap *
49. Prison Break Saw about three or four episodes. I didn’t see the greatness that everybody else sees.
48. Veronica Mars See above.
47. Star Trek: Deep Space Nine
46. Sex & The City

45. Farscape
44. Cracker
43. Star Trek
42. Only Fools and Horses
41. Band of Brothers

40. Life on Mars The first three episodes of this series, which I saw on BBC America, were amazing. Unfortunately I lost track of it after that. I’ll be renting this one to see if the quality holds up.
39. Monty Python’s Flying Circus *
38. Curb Your Enthusiasm *
37. Star Trek: The Next Generation *
36. Father Ted * Seen four or five episodes. Freaking HILARIOUS.

35. Alias
34. Frasier
33. CSI: Las Vegas
32. Babylon 5
31. Deadwood *

30. Dexter * (I’ll have most likely seen all the episodes of the current season by the end of the weekend, so I might as well bold this one.)
29. ER * <– just for the first four seasons.
28. Fawlty Towers If I were a better nerd I’d slap the asterik on this one, but I could never get into it.
27. Six Feet Under *
26. Red Dwarf

25. Futurama
24. Twin Peaks
23. The Office UK *
22. The Shield
21. Angel

20. Blackadder *
19. Scrubs
18. Arrested Development *
17. South Park *
16.Doctor Who I don’t really think you can list this on its own, because with each different “Doctor” it’s almost been a completely different series in tone/feel/presentation (with the exception of the last “switch” during the current revival)

15. Heroes
14. Firefly I really like it and thought it had amazing potential, but don’t think it belongs on a Top 50 list. Sorry guys.
13. Battlestar Galactica *
12. Family Guy *
11. Seinfeld * <– As much as an increasing number of people have started hating on this show in the past few years, it was so far above all the other schlock sitcoms released at that time that it deserves to be recognized.

10. Spaced
09. The X-Files
08. The Wire – Everybody and their cross-eyed Uncle keeps recommending it to me with the qualifier that I need to watch from the beginning…I’m pretty sure it’s somewhere on the Netflix Queue.
07. Friends Good God no. Cultural phenomena or no, this show was just okay the first two seasons and stunk to high heavens afterwards.
06. 24

05. Lost
04. The West Wing *
03. The Sopranos *
02. Buffy the Vampire Slayer
01. The Simpsons *

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 4, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    OMG you haven’t seen any red dwarf. You poor poor soul.

    • April 5, 2008 at 5:24 pm

      I know. I live a sad life and need to revoke my nerd status pronto.

      • April 6, 2008 at 2:22 pm

        While at least to my knowledge it was never aired in this area on PBS. Now if you were from CNY, then your nerd status would defently be in jeopardy.

        hope you see some of it soon

  2. April 4, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Yeah, I’m going to have to disagree with you on Buffy being a good show… Because, ya know, it’s not.

    Otherwise we’ve watch a lot of the same tv, and liked a lot of the same stuff. Sweet! And Spaced is a good time although I haven’t seen all of it.

    • April 5, 2008 at 5:25 pm

      OHHHHHHH HIGH FIVE!

      Well, except on Buffy. I’m not a superfan or anything, but I’ve seen quite a bit of it and enjoyed it.

  3. April 4, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    okay, I’ll have to do this myself, but in the meantime, some thoughts…

    It’s well worth buying the box set of Father Ted. It’s got all 3 seasons and the Christmas episode. Absolutely feckin’ hilarious show.

    It’s been a long time, and there are many episodes I never saw, but Red Dwarf’s worth checking out, too.

    Who hates on Seinfeld? That just seems insane to me. It’s a brilliant show, and outside of a couple clip shows, there wasn’t really ever a bad episode. Some were better than others, but I wouldn’t say any of them were unfunny or of poor quality.

    Spaced is also well worth checking out. I think most fans of the Pegg/Wright movies also love the show, however my friend Mark, who loved Shaun and liked Hot Fuzz, couldn’t really get into Spaced at all. For now, unless you’ve got a region-free player, you’d have to see about watching them on youtube or finding a torrent or something. Though I think there are plans to eventually release the DVDs Stateside, it still hasn’t happened.

    • April 5, 2008 at 5:26 pm

      Wouldn’t it be cool if BBC America showed MORE shows like that? Instead of, you know, reserving space for Monarch on the Glenn and an entire NIGHT of episodes of “My Family”?

  4. April 4, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    ONG, DEADWOOD BEST SHOW EVER.

  5. Anonymous
    April 5, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Inconceivable!

    You’ve watched every episode of The Simpsons?

    • April 5, 2008 at 5:24 pm

      Re: Inconceivable!

      Hyep. It’s sort of unavoidable not to have seen them in reruns at least.

      (I’m disqualifying most recent episodes that haven’t been put into syndication yet – but that’s only a matter of time)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

