Home > Uncategorized > 3/17/08 – Important Note

3/17/08 – Important Note

Firstly, a Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you and yours. I’m sure most of you celebrated this weekend; donning your plastic green hats and all the other tacky peripheral accessories that try (and fail) to compensate for the fact that you don’t have a drop of Irish blood in you. Or some of you who do have Irish blood in you showed your pride with a bit more restraint – perhaps just a necklace of shamrocks and a green shirt. Or perhaps you’re like myself, almost completely to 100% Irish; so much so that Lucky the Leprechaun utters slurs about your Northern European ancestry…and as such, you just think of it as just another Monday. Or you’re this person, who celebrated by doing a “Grand Opening” of a different nature at the Stewart’s on Oakwood Ave.

Whatever the case, hope you all were safe this weekend and continue to be should you celebrate the holiday later today.

Without getting into too much detail – scratch that, any details – there’s a semi-serious family health emergency that’s sprung up in the past week. As such, I’m not going to have as much of an online “presence”, as much as that term bothers me for no good reason. In other words, if I’m not posting to the blog or the website or one of the social networking sites, that’s why.

As much as I appreciate them, it’s certainly not required that you reply to this or personally message me as it pertains to this matter. Just keep the family member in your thoughts, prayers, or whatever it is you do to wish somebody well in what is a trying time. Personally, I’m optimistic as all signs are pointing to it being caught very early. But there is recovery time for the procedure being done, and as such priorities dictate I spend my time taking care of my own.

To tide you over in the meantime…
– There’s a new 4 Color Commentary podcast as mentioned in the previous post.
– Though I won’t be able to record this week, I thankfully (and purely by accident) have two editions of the Living Under Marshall Law podcast already recorded and ready to go. One is the bonus wrestling talk with Brian P. Dermody, the other is an hour and a half with Mike Ryan aka Llakor talking comics, wrestling, and much more. So keep an eye out for those in the coming week.

Have a great and safe week, everyone!

  1. March 17, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    i hope all is well. that’s all you need!

  2. March 17, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Hope all turns out okay.

  3. March 17, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Hope everything turns out all right. I’ll be thinking of you & yours.

  4. March 17, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Good luck with your family matter. And as for the first part, I’m with you. I’m in the “some” category and all I’ve done is use it as an excuse to watch Father Ted and listen to The Pogues. I am in fact wearing green today, but that’s a pretty common occurrence anyway, and it also just makes the day go by without comment. I don’t know if you’ve seen the “Proposition 3-17” group on Facebook, but I found it hilarious that some actual Irish folks were giving them hell about it and noting the differences between St. Paddy’s Day in Ireland and here.

    • March 17, 2008 at 6:40 pm

      Father Ted. ‘Nuff said. I need to Netflix that up.

  5. March 17, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    “Firstly, a Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you and yours. I’m sure most of you celebrated this weekend; donning your plastic green hats and all the other tacky peripheral accessories that try (and fail) to compensate for the fact that you don’t have a drop of Irish blood in you.”

    Ugh. So true. I really only started celebrating St. Pat’s day two years ago, avoiding that very fact. But after Saturday, I’m thinking of going back to my hatred. (Nevermind I’m making Corned Beef as we speak..) I went to Brown’s, though, in the evening and was happy to find the level of asshattery low.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

