Home > Uncategorized > Bored at Work

Bored at Work

WTRY, which is the local “Oldies” station in the Capital Region, is played in our office. Really, it’s the most non-offensive local radio station we can play that won’t irritate us or the people that stop in, and that’s the only reason it plays.

Because their definition of what’s considered an “Oldie” is curious. I’m hearing stuff from the late 80s and early 90s that I’d really not consider a classic pop song by any definition of the word. Also, they have both the Bruce Springsteen and Natalie Cole version of “Pink Cadillac” in one of the upper tiers of their regular rotation on PowerGold. Which means I get to hear not one but TWO versions of a song that really annoys me (for no good reason) ad nauseum.

I have no motivation today, and don’t expect it to return tomorrow either. This weekend is SO damn long and I can’t wait for it to end.

AGAIN – if you’re bored like me and have the means, check out the website and especially the new episode of the podcast, which like an idiot I forgot to note that due to a few cuss words it’s “NSFW” (even though I’ve said before that it’s to be assumed as such). I’m gonna work the next week on getting the episodes with BPD and mine & Steve’s “4 Color Commentary” podcasts about comic books on separate RSS feeds. I just wish it wasn’t such a pain in the ass to set up. I found a site that I THINK explains all the code necessary to set up an RSS feed on my own, I just have to find the time to sit around and fiddle with it.

Oh, and check the iTunes Music Store. The correct podcast feed – listed as “Living Under Marshall Law (KevinMarshallOnline.com)” since the old one’s RSS feed was lost with the site’s server switch from Windows to Linux – was approved last night and should be available within the next day or so.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. March 6, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Welcome to being OLD Mr. Marshall!
    What irks me insanely is when I hear Nirvana and Stone Temple Pilots listed as “Vintage” on EQX.

    • March 6, 2008 at 4:25 pm

      That doesn’t bother me nearly as much for some reason. Can’t really explain why.

      I guess “Vintage” is such a liberally applied term when it comes to what some would still label “alternative” music, and the impact a band like Nirvana had (which brought a broader range – albeit still limited – to what cuold be considered popular music. So that’s a bit more understandable. But I always grew up with “Oldies” being specifically the 60s, that to hear 80s and early 90s stuff weirds me out.

      The bigger issue for me, though, is stuff like Huey Lewis and the News’ “The Heart of Rock and Roll is Still Beating” doesn’t belong anywhere near Frankie Valli and The Beatles.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

