Home > Uncategorized > If Only Life’s Losses & Rediscoveries Were As Simple As They Are With My CD Collection

If Only Life’s Losses & Rediscoveries Were As Simple As They Are With My CD Collection

I need to write about “Celebrity Rehab” at some point. Both because of the hubbub surrounding it and the show itself. I highly recommend watching it (which I believe you can on VH1.com if you missed the airings for episodes 1 and 2), but I still have conflicting feelings on its existence let alone the perception it seems to has garnered.

But that’ll have to wait until tomorrow. For it’s late and I was feeling woefully uninspired this evening.

SADNESS OF THE WEEK: After hearing “Cross-Eyed Mary” on the radio while driving to Price Chopper the other day, I got nostalgic for Jethro Tull’s “Aqualung.” I fucking loved that album when I bought it well over ten years ago, and hearing “Cross-Eyed Mary” subsequently got “Locomotive Breath” stuck in my head like crazy. Surprisingly, though the majority of my CDs are now housed in the basement, I actually had the CD in my room with a small handful of other CDs! Who woulda thought?

Well…me, obviously. It was one of the few I brought up from the basement awhile ago in order to rip onto the computer. I never got around to it. Long story short, I was super excited until I opened up the CD case and there was no CD to be found. I have no idea where it could have gone to, either, and I eventually remembered discovering this before several years ago. So “Aqualung” is lost, and it makes me sad.

I did, however, realize that I never got around to throwing Faith No More’s “Angeldust” on my hard drive. I know there’s a ton of people who think they’re shit, but God do I love that band. So now I’m listening to “Land of Sunshine” – the song that made fun of Scientology way before it was cool to make fun of Scientology – and feeling not quite as disappointed. However, that does remind me that I no longer have “Album of the Year” and haven’t for quite some time. I’m pretty sure it’s one of those CDs I let somebody borrow and then never saw again.

Note to self – don’t let people borrow stuff, because you never remember who has what.

And on that note, here’s a rare (and quite odd) music video for their cover of The Bee Gees’ “I Started a Joke.” One of the asshole boyfriends/hecklers is a young Martin Freeman (Tim from the original UK version of “The Office”). No idea who the guy is pantomiming Mike Patton’s vocals, but he looks familiar. The redhead swooning over him is even MORE familiar and it’s driving me nuts. Something tells me iambliss, pgnblade, and/or chrusty might know.

New Mike Patton icon. He’s driving a hearse! Wheeeeeeee!

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. January 18, 2008 at 7:58 am

    NEW ICON PARTAY

  2. January 18, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    “I know there’s a ton of people who think they’re shit” WHO?! They need a beating.

    As for the guy lip-synching in the video, that’s Nick Cave. The redhead, I don’t know.

  3. January 18, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    The singer is David Hoyle (Most notably of Velvet Goldmine.) The girl… I recognise her too… The only place I can find her is in a ref to one of the videos on YouTube, which claims it’s Amanda Butterly. (But I can find no cross ref, or substantiaion.)

    -Me

    • January 21, 2008 at 2:24 am

      Oh good, I’m not crazy. I read that it was Nick Cave and I wasn’t able to find confirmation/denial, but I thought it was wrong.

  4. January 18, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Ok, you did this to me. I’ve been watching live versions of this song over and over now on you tube. It’s a riveting proformance every single time he does it. DAMN.

    And I just gotta say… Mike Patton with short hair!? What!? No! ok, he does look more sane.. but.. Wow, just wow. This will always be MY Mike Patton:

    Crazy Mike!

    • January 21, 2008 at 2:26 am

      he’s had short hair since Angel Dust.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

