Home > Uncategorized > I Get My Pants at Queers R Us, FIRE~!, Ric Flair – Just Like That, more

I Get My Pants at Queers R Us, FIRE~!, Ric Flair – Just Like That, more

So part of last night was spent at work ONCE AGAIN fixing the errors of somebody in another department (one of the same people whose errors I spent two hours fixing the other day). I got done around 6:15pm. After calling Maeve and realizing she wouldn’t make it back to her house at 8:00pm like she intended if we hung out, I got a ridiculous craving for Indian food. This led to a thirty-minute search for somebody to have Indian food with.

Ironically enough, Ed got a craving for it on Thursday night and went to the Albany leg of the Shalimar franchise. Without me. Fucker.

I finally found a dining partner in Dave Breault. We went to Shalimar in downtown Troy, and it was fabulous. Naan and Chicken Tikka Masala is good, good stuff. Dave and I had a bit of catching up to do. We exchanged notes on our thoughts of the WGA Strike, life after college, what people we know have been up to, and Meet the Spartans.

“See it? I BLOGGED about it!” I said in response to him asking if I’d seen the trailer for Meet the Spartans. Though I said it jokingly, I didn’t say it with nearly enough shame as would be warranted with such a statement.

As we were leaving (we were one of only three or four total people in the place), two doofy high school chicks ran into the place yelling and creating a commotion. Apparently, from what we could hear, they were being harangued by some white trash driving down Fulton and it freaked them out. They decided to hide out in Shalimar, and had the courtesy to at least buy a soda. Then they tried to get change for a twenty. First, the girl asked the guy behind the counter for two fives. When her friend corrected her and corrected noted that it’s not equal to twenty dollars, she responded with “oh right, I’m sorry…can I get two tens and four fives?”

Now granted, I would’ve laughed regardless. But to be a dick, I exaggerated it for comedic effect, which almost made Dave fall out of his chair. As a point of reference, it sounded almost exactly like THIS.

“Oh God, that’s embarrassing” said one of the girls when she realized we were laughing at them.

They tried striking up conversation, noting that they really dug the hat. We kind of blew them off, them being High Schoolers and all.

Speaking of compliments, I got no less than four unsolicited comments from people yesterday about the weight I lost. I’m guessing they weren’t paying attention before the holidays, because I’ve definitely put at least five pounds back on since late November. If you’re wondering why yesterday of all days I was getting compliments about my weight, I think it was because of the pants. They’re one of the pairs of pants I’ve purchased recently that AREN’T way too goddamn baggy (I’m still in the process of catching my wardrobe up to my weight loss), but are also unfortunately a little too tight on me. “Gee, Michael, those pants are awful tight…where’d you get them, Queers R Us?” Yes, in fact, I did.

So Dave and I got the Hell out of dodge and I went home. Read a couple e-mails, put the away message up and rested on my bed for a bit. For a bit turned into me passing out at 10:30pm and waking up at 7:00am this morning, at which point I opened my bedroom door and smelled something burning.

Uh oh.

After frantically searching the apartment for thirty seconds, I found the culprit. I found out just a few moments ago from a recently awoken Steve that he decided to make some hot dogs after I went to bed, which would explain the charred remains in a pot I found on the kitchen table. So I turned the heat off, opened a few windows to air out the house, went to Price Chopper to get some cleaning supplies (had to go anyway to get more Arizona Diet Green Tea – the only thing other than water and coffee I drink these days), picked up a large coffee and wheat bagel at Dunkin Donuts, came back and got to cleaning/de-stinkifying the house.

I think I got it all. The air freshener helped a little, it’s mostly aired out, and the stove has been cleaned.

Steve: if you’re reading this, in the future let’s limit the fires to the disco and the Taco Bell. Also, in the gates of Hell. I know why you keep starting fires: it’s your desire. So no apologies necessary.

This weekend is the weekend I finally start crawling out of my cave and doing stuff. Later today is coffee with Maeve. Then tonight is the party at Jenn Sack’s house.

We’re gonna set her apartment on fire. Figuratively speaking.

Before I go…

JUST LIKE THAT

The chorus (starting about 1:00 in) is going to be my new ringtone. Oh yes.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. January 12, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    that video is AWESOME!

    • January 13, 2008 at 7:43 am

      And a reminder of how utterly fucking awesome Ric Flair was in the 80s. Seriously.

  2. January 13, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Holy shit,

    I love that video so much more than I have any reason to. A-MAZ-ING.

    • January 13, 2008 at 7:43 am

      Re: Holy shit,

      As well you should. It transcends wrestling fans, non-fans, all ethnicities, genders, sexual orientations, religious affiliations…everything. If this video were simulcast throughout the world at the same time and looped for an hour, nobody would die while it was on TV. People would be transfixed, and there’d be no more war.

      It’s true.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

