PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT FOR ALL ON LJ

If you get an IM from an unknown person on G-Mail, AIM, etc. saying “Your friends-only posts have been stolen” with a link that includes your username, don’t click it. Lord knows what it does, but some testing in IM convo reveals it’s definitely a bot.

In other words, YOUR FRIENDS-ONLY POSTS HAVEN’T BEEN STOLEN. And under NO circumstances should you click on the link.

Also, don’t put your G-Mail address in your LJ profile, because you get stuff like this apparently.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 12, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Phew. I’d hate for the world to know about my period and my dead Mom.

    • January 12, 2008 at 12:13 pm

      They already do. I told everyone, Maeve. I was like “GUESS WHAT? Maeve has a menstrual cycle”

      Your secret is out.

      • January 13, 2008 at 6:23 am

        FUCK! I hate you.

        On a lighter note (like the last days of my cycle?) I have a borrowed car for tomorrow and I’ll be in reliable cell service. Coffee party, take 3?

      • January 13, 2008 at 7:26 am

        Annnnnnnnnnd ACTION

  2. January 12, 2008 at 7:09 am

    That shit is precisely why I took my AIM screen name out of my lj userinfo!

    • January 12, 2008 at 12:14 pm

      See, that’s the thing. Your AIM s/n (and your e-mail) is safe because they do stuff to mask it from bots/crawlers/etcetera. They don’t, however, seem to do that with GAIM.

      • January 12, 2008 at 6:26 pm

        I was getting messages from that robot on AIM.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

