Home > Uncategorized > Cuomo’s Unfortunate Choice of Words, Hillary’s Fake Tears, Little People(?) Hurt by the WGA, more

Cuomo’s Unfortunate Choice of Words, Hillary’s Fake Tears, Little People(?) Hurt by the WGA, more

A controversy of sorts was ignited yesterday when New York State Attorney General Andrew Cuomo used an unfortunate phrase in describing Barack Obama’s Presidential bid:

“It’s not a TV-crazed race. Frankly you can’t buy your way through.”

He added later, “You have to sit down with 10 people in a living room. You can’t shuck and jive at a news conference, you can’t just put off reporters, because you have real people looking at you saying ‘answer the question.'”

The interesting part about this story is that if I were to simply say that Cuomo used the words “shuck and jive” in response to a question about Obama, you’d say “well I’m sure that’s taken out of context.” But for some reason, when put in the proper context, it somehow looks worse. It reads like Andrew Cuomo’s a racist sports writer criticizing early Negro players in the NBA. All that’s missing is a reference to him as “boy” and something along the lines of saying that he can’t learn the fundamentals necessary to make him a player.

Cuomo has, of course, since apologized. However, I’m hard up to find an explanation for why somebody under the age of 67 would even use the phrase “shuck and jive” in the first place.

All that being said…

Guys, Andrew’s kind of an idiot. Well, maybe not just “kinda.” It’s exacerbated by being in a position where most of his adult life was spent proving that he was an equal to his father in the political and intellectual realm, which he’s not and never will be. I mean, I’m shocked that he managed to even make Attorney General, since he seemed to have enough trouble heading up HUD. But he’s definitely NOT a racist. He’s just…well, dumb.

So yeah. Feel free to laugh, roll your eyes, sigh deeply, or have whatever other reaction you deem appropriate. But don’t get too upset or outraged, because it really isn’t warranted.

Also, he’s wrong. Hillary won New Hampshire because of that bullshit “fake choking up” stunt she pulled.

I’m sorry, but ANYBODY who thinks that was sincere has got to be out of their minds. Who the Hell cries over their own empty, non-specific rhetoric (other than crazy people)? Does that even resemble a genuine emotional reaction in your eyes? If it does, get them checked.

Call me heartless, but I’m not buying that for a second. People cry over real stuff, not bullshit or issues they didn’t seem to give a shit about over the course of the last six years. Amazing how something like running for President can make a person like Hillary care enough to cry. It’s just a shame she didn’t care enough to do something – ANYTHING – resembling initiation of positive change for this country during her lame duck tenure as Senator from New York.

SPEAKING OF HILLARYS: Everest conqueror Sir Edmund Hillary has died at 88.

BAD IDEA DEPARTMENT: Wanting to expand their recruiting pool, the U.S. Border Patrol is going to enlist the help of…NASCAR. Fucking. Great. You know, if I’m recruiting individuals to guard this country’s borders while keeping in mind that I don’t want a bunch of foolish, racist bastards getting on the news for shooting people or using excessive force? I’m probably NOT going to advertise with NASCAR. But hey, that’s just me.

GOLDEN GLOBES FALLOUT: In a story so laughably bad that it’s…well, just laughable really, an AP writer tells the story of the little guy hurt by the Golden Globe cancellations. Please note that “blue collar” is so loosely defined as to include a dude who finds people so fucking drunk out of their minds they’re willing to pay to ride the back of a scooter. Sadly, this guy will have to GET A REAL FUCKING JOB THIS YEAR (the look on his face in the picture provided in the article is quite hilarious). Then you have the waiters and waitresses who will be unemployed…for one whole night. Oh, and don’t forget the overpaid hair stylists and make-up people that hover over celebrities before they go onstage for the Awards show. WHAT THE FUCK?! Okay, am I getting Punk’d? Because this story is trying so goddamn hard to make it look like the WGA has totally fucked the blue collar worker, then provides example after example of individuals that are so far out of the blanket term “blue collar” it’s laughable. Jesus Christ, nobody’s going to lose their houses over the Golden Globes being cancelled. Besides, the show shouldn’t exist anyway because it’s a total sham (even more so than other Awards shows).

On a personal note, stayed home for the early part of the day to catch up on some more sleep. I think the Liquid Tylenol I took last night to soothe the soreness did a number on me, since prescription antibiotics don’t tend to make people drowsy as far as I know. Then again, I’m not a doctor, so I make that statement knowing there’s a good chance I’m dead wrong in saying that.

I still managed to go in for about four hours in the afternoon, after we closed our doors, and got some stuff accomplished. So…hooray? Yes. Definitely hooray, because it’s been a hellacious week even without the strep as far as work piling up for both myself and my supervisor goes. And I’m very very VERY close to sending out a nasty e-mail reminding people of the importance of paying attention to what the fuck they’re doing. Lazy and outright sloppy work by people in other departments has caused me so much more work this week it’s ridiculous. I understand that certain people just don’t give a shit, but they should at least give enough of a shit to not put me out by making me spend literally hours correcting their works. It’s particularly annoying because it’s avoidable. Not even in the sense that if people were careful, or more meticulous, etcetera…all I ask is that they PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT THE FUCK THEY’RE DOING.

Rassem. Frassem.

More later…

  1. January 11, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I dunno man… I’m a feminist and I love the idea of electing a woman, but meanwhile I, personally, don’t want some bitch who cries every time the going gets rough. So even if she’s fake crying, I’d say its a stupid chick thing to do and I’m not into for that reason.

    Eh, anyway… it just struck me as silly…

  2. January 11, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    I don’t really think it was fake. I mean, it might have been, and I am certainly no fan of Hillary Clinton (apparently me & Mike Gravel are buds), but I know I cry VERY EASILY when I’m sleep deprived, hormonal, or both, and I’m sure she’s under a lot of stress. I disagree with the above comment that crying is a stupid chick thing to do cuz I don’t think emotions automatically = weakness.

    I dunno. Generally I hate celebrities & politicians for being insincere sacks of shit, but I also feel sorry for anyone who has to be publicly scrutinized like that. Even if they essentially asked for it.

    On a lighter note, your icon fuckin’ rocks.

    • January 12, 2008 at 6:23 am

      Eh, I think I’m just playing devil’s advocate. I too am a highly emotional type of girl and am usually not very amused by my own emotions and lack of control over them (the hippie in me wants to say to myself, “Feel your feelings because they’re real and make you real and etc” but the grumpy bitch usually wins when she tells me to shut the fuck up and get my work done). And at this point in the race, I’m really just looking for reasons to hate everyone. I’m just that kind of pessimist/nihilist/jerk-face. 🙂

      • January 12, 2008 at 12:15 pm

        You’re just dead on the inside like me. Admit it.

  3. January 11, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    I think it is ridiculous to say that Clinton won New Hampshire because she cried. It undermines the hard work she has done on the campaign trail and the intelligence of the NH voters. NH is not a “touchy feely” state by any stretch of the imagination. Regardless of your political opinons, Its time to ignore the media hype and deal with real topics.

    • January 11, 2008 at 9:55 pm

      OH YES, LET’S.

      It’s time for us to focus on the important stuff. Like for instance, she not only voted FOR the Iraq War Resolution (just like every other cowardly Democrat at the time) and later started beating the drum when things went badly even though any idiot looking at the situation before we went in there could’ve predicted the outcome, but she also voted AGAINST an amendment to the resolution that would have required Bush to both be more aggressive in trying to convince the UN to go in unilaterally AND seek Congressional approval before going in. In that she differs from other Democrats, who at least made an attempt to make it seem as if there was some real opposition to the Iraq mandate rather than just rolling over with the slight edge of public opinion against better judgment.

      Oh, but she made up for her vague stances that dominated her first term as Senator by voting against the Troop Surge once the polls showed that the rest of America had wised up. Good on her! Also, good on her for all the stuff she did for New York State as our representative in the Senate. Well, besides the 9/11 stuff (which even James Traficant could’ve gotten approved considering what had gone down)…um…huh. Weird. I’m drawing a blank.

      The fact of the matter is that Hillary is a true Democrat and a true liberal when the polls require her to be. But when it appears anything may be even remotely difficult to fight, she folds like a House of Cards. This is not unique in the world of politics, but it bears noting in that people keep trying to paint her as this strong liberal advocate when the majority of her term as Senator showed that nothing could be further from the truth. She only talked tough to Bush when there were a lot of other people shouting around her, and not a moment sooner.

      And speaking of hype, can we please bust this myth of Hillary as an underdog of any sort? Both her intial election and re-election to the New York Senate were absolute cakewalks despite the fact that she was using this State and the good faith of its electorate for her own personal ambitions and nothing more. And she’s been the favorite to win the Democratic Nomination for the 2008 Presidential race since November of 2000. Every poll showed it, everybody talked about it, and up until the Iowa caucus a Clinton victory was a foregone conclusion.

      Listen, I don’t write this just because I hate on her for no reason. I don’t trust her given her past record, and I can’t help but roll my eyes in exasperation and disbelief when people try to paint her as an underdog. What, because there were five days where she was down in the polls? All of a sudden, she has one other member of the Party with an equitable Cult of Personality (but more natural and charisma combined with what seems so far at least like a bit more sincerity) and she’s this poor woman that’s being attacked on all sides. C’mon now.

      All this is why I think the crying is BULLSHIT. I still hold the opinion it was an act. I’m sorry if it seems cold, but Hillary if anything is a strong-ass and determined woman. She’s never been one, with all the bullshit involving Bill’s infedelities that she had to deal with during his tenure as President, to fall apart while talking about sensitive subjects. And this wasn’t even a sensitive subject. It was simply “wow, I’m all of a sudden trailing in the polls.” Cue tears.

      HUH?

      The people on her campaign should be applauded for turning around a disappointing (but NOT disastrous) week up until that point, but it’s not as if she fell all the way to the back of the pack. This isn’t Bill’s campaign in 1992 where he was getting the ever-loving shit kicked out of him in the early season and then had this miraculous comeback kid surge to win the nomination. Hillary is not under any more stress, or having it any tougher, than any other candidate that’s still in the running. Hell, if anyone deserves to break down in tears, it’s a guy like Bill Richardson who is far more qualified, sincere, and headstrong than Hillary, Obama, Edwards, or anybody else for that matter…but unfortunately isn’t enough of a celebrity to make it happen.

      So…yeah. Sorry, but I’m still not buying it.

      • January 12, 2008 at 1:54 am

    • January 11, 2008 at 10:06 pm

      Look, I’m not saying Hillary is a TERRIBLE person. But I do think there’s sides to her that she lets people see when she wants to, and I don’t know what to believe from her anymore. Especially all the spin she’s put on since the “emotional” moment she had in New Hampshire. “You helped me find my true voice” and all that. Even SHE’S acknowledging it helped her win that primary.

    • January 11, 2008 at 10:17 pm

      (last one) And yes, I’ll publically come out and state that the opinion I had that it alone won her New Hampshire was ridiculous, and it’s embarrassing that I could think such a thing. But it sure didn’t hurt her either.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

