Home > Uncategorized > Updated Christmas Playlist; New Phone; More

Updated Christmas Playlist; New Phone; More

11 new tracks towards the bottom.

It’s what’ll be playing at the party, whether people like it or not. NO BING! I’m still looking for more recommendations.

Run DMC – “Christmas Time in Hollis Queens”
James Brown – “Funky Christmas”
Otis Redding – “Merry Christmas Baby”
Leon Redbone ft. Dr. John – “Frosty the Snowman”
Death Cab for Cutie – “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”
Belle & Sebastian – “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”
Tom Waits – “Silent Night”
Pretenders – “2,000 Miles”
Dean Martin – “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”
The Flaming Lips – “Christmas at the Zoo”
Elvis Presley – “Blue Christmas”
John Denver & The Muppets – “Twelve Days of Christmas”
Chuck Berry – “Run Rudolph Run”
Kinks – “Father Christmas”
The Pogues – “Fairytale of New York”
Low – “Little Drummer Boy”
The Waitresses – “Christmas Wrapping”
Ray Charles – “The Spirit of Christmas”
Rufus Wainwright – “Spotlight on Christmas”
Smashing Pumpkins – “Christmastime”
Rilo Kiley – “Christmas Cake”
The Ramones – “Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want to Fight Tonight”
Squirrel Nut Zippers – “Winter Weather”
Stevie Wonder – “Someday at Christmas”
Leon Redbone – “Winter Wonderland”
Sufjan Stevens – “O Holy Night”
The Trekky Yuletide Orchestra – “All I Want for Christmas is You”
Band Aid – “Do They Know It’s Christmas?”
Type O Negative – “Red Water (Christmas Mourning)”
Frank Sinatra – “I’ll Be Home for Christmas (If Only In My Dreams)”
My Morning Jacket – “Xmas Curtain”
Tori Amos – “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
The Polyphonic Spree – “Carol of the Bells”
Los Straightjackets – “A Marshmallow World”
Jamaica All Stars – “Here Comes Santa Claus”
Mojo Nixon – “Christmas, Christmas”
The Band – “Christmas Must Be Tonight”
Asleep at the Wheel – “Santa Loves to Boogie”
Yo La Tengo – “Rock N Roll Santa”

I managed to do most of the shopping for the party on Saturday. I managed to get a veggie platter and a good shrimp spread set up, but like an idiot I forgot to bring out the e-mail my sister sent me at work so I could buy stuff for the crab dip. I won’t be able to make it until Friday night/Saturday anyway, so it looks like another trip’s on the itinerary for tomorrow.

On a different note, I’m entering the 21st Century with a new cellphone that could be here tomorrow or Saturday, but most likely due to the high volume created by the holidays next Wednesday (that’s not what they told me but just what I gather using common sense). It’s one-a them thar fancy phones that captures images! And can receive them! And plays real music! It’s an exciting time, indeed.

I didn’t go crazy. In fact, I didn’t do anything at all. I re-upped with Sprint for two more years and got a free phone. It’s the Samsung M500 in stunning red. It’s not a RAZR or an iPhone, but it’ll get the job done and I’ll be rid of this scratchy, dull gray thing that I carry with me now.

Alright, I got nothin’ else.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. December 21, 2007 at 4:24 am

    If you’re only going to play one Low song, go with “Just Like Xmas”, that’s a much more fun song for parties.

    I would also say “That was the Worst Xmas Ever” is a better Sufjan Stevens choice 🙂

    Tralala “Christmas never comes when you’re alone” is an awesome song.

    “The Athiest Xmas Carol” by Vienna Teng gets high marks from me.

    “The First Noel” by Emmylou Harris is a beautiful working of an old standard.

    I know it might cost me some good taste points, but I like Jimmy Eat World’s version of “Last Xmas”

  2. December 21, 2007 at 4:24 am

    My suggestions…

    Weird Al Yankovic – The Night Santa Went Crazy, Christmas At Ground Zero

    Louis Armstrong – Zat You, Santa Claus?

    Fountains Of Wayne – Alien For Christmas

    John Lennon – Happy Christmas (War Is Over)

    Billy Squire – Christmas Is The Time To Say I Love You

    James Brown – Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto

    The O’Jays – I Can Hardly Wait For Christmas

    Paul McCartney – Pipes Of Peace

    Bob & Doug McKenzie – Twelve Days Of Christmas

    Billy Mack – Christmas Is All Around

    Louis Prima – Shake Hands With Santa Claus

    Thurl Ravenscroft – You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch

    Cheech & Chong – Santa Claus And His Old Lady

  3. December 21, 2007 at 5:15 am

    Oh, and can’t forget Eric Cartman’s rendition of “O Holy Night.”

  4. December 21, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    That’s a fantastic playlist. Wish I could crash the party.

  5. December 22, 2007 at 3:00 am

    I can’t believe you’re putting Band Aid on that list. I think you should find The Fall’s covers of “Jingle Bell Rock” and “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” and add them to the list.

    Oh, and if you need any goodies for your party, I won an assload of munchies and shit at the DotCIO holiday party today, so gimme a call if you think there’s anything I could contribute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

