Home > Uncategorized > Holiday Preparations, Muppet Family Christmas, and Becoming Jack Torrance

Holiday Preparations, Muppet Family Christmas, and Becoming Jack Torrance

Well, I was going to try to get some shopping done last night, but my oldest sister ended up needing me to watch the twins while the oldest niece had her Christmas recital. The positive is that I was able to do one load of laundry there – FOR FREE! – which means now I can be at my own holiday party wearing something other than jeans and a zip-up “Bronx Wrestling 1985” hoodie (because apparently I was an amateur wrestling champion at age 3).

Speaking of which, that’s this Saturday. Those of you on MySpace and Facebook got reminders. Those of you that aren’t cool enough to have either a MySpace of Facebook (SHUT UP THEY’RE FOR COOL KIDS), this is your reminder.

Today’s been good thus far, insomuch as the building I work in has running water again. HOORAY FOR RUNNING WATER. We still can’t drink it, but we can at least pee in it and wash our hands with it. Or something.

So tonight I’m going to go shopping to get all the utensils and plasticware necessary for everybody to eat my crab dip. Yes, I’m going to make crab dip. Don’t worry, my sister does this ALL THE TIME and nobody’s died yet, so I have faith that you will all come out the other side feeling full, relieved, and better for having had my crab dip. Also, the crab dip itself will come out the other side alright, if you know what I mean.

BOWEL MOVEMENTS IF YOU DIDN’T ALREADY CATCH MY DRIFT!

Tomorrow night is going to be spent cleaning the entire apartment. Basically, from the time I get home most likely until I go to bed. God, I’ve been dreading it. I found myself putting it off, but then I realized that it’s actually GOOD to put it off since I don’t want to have to do any of it again before the party.

* QUICK NOTE – Do yourselves a favor and search out “Muppet Family Christmas” on YouTube (recommended from a recent entry by levanna*. I forgot how utterly awesome the entire Muppet Franchise was in the mid to late eighties, and that special was and still is AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME.

You know, I think being alone in this office is getting to me. Being the only person here isn’t overwhelming by any means, but while I’m in touch with people by phone I’m not getting much person to person interaction or contact. As a result, I’ve had no energy and I’m finding myself being much crankier than usual. It’s one of the many reasons why I could never do a job that requires me to work from home.

And on that note, back to doing work. *AUDIBLE GASP FROM THE PEANUT GALLERY*

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. December 20, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Why didn’t you have running water?

  2. December 21, 2007 at 3:33 am

    MUPPET FAMILY CHRISTMAS

    BEST CHRISTMAS SPECIAL EVER

    • December 21, 2007 at 3:51 am

      You know, I’m inclined to agree with that outright. Because while at the time I had a lot of holiday specials I loved, I’ve found most of them (if not all) just don’t hold up as well. On the other hand, I like the Muppet Family Christmas more now than I even did back then.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

