Home > Uncategorized > Next person to sing “Let it Snow” is getting a roundhouse kick to the face.

Next person to sing “Let it Snow” is getting a roundhouse kick to the face.

I just got back inside from three hours(!) of shovelling. It’s the detriment to living on a corner, in that you’re doing twice the shovelling. In addition, the house we’re living in (a two-family) has a driveway that rather than go straight in like most, loops around in sort of a quarter-circle to create even more area to shovel.

So, being the only one around in my apartment (Steve & Peter are home for the weekend) and having upstairs neighbors who won’t do any shovelling because that would require a contribution other than flooding their sink that causes a leak forcing Peter out of his bedroom for a couple nights, I did it on my lonesome. No snowblower, just a shovel and some REAL MAN SHIT.

And you know, as I’m looking around my neighborhood, I see the homeowners and some renters shovelling. But the renters that shovel, despite there being males that live there, are all female students. What the Hell happened to make so many of the males of my generation lazy primadonnas? Like, what the fuck, they have this little tiny girl (cute might I add – we smiled at each other and I totally would have struck up conversation if she looked any older than 20) on the first floor of the house they’re living in, and she’s out shovelling her ass off. Meanwhile, I see one of the guys across the street casually stroll out and just wipe his car off enough to speed out of there.

Then I had the old guy who lives next door (the couple next door are good friends with our sweet old landlady Mrs. H) come over and tell me that I’m the first guy he’s seen in all the years of Mrs. H renting the place that has done anything after a snowstorm.

That’s fucking sad.

There really is an undeserved sense of entitlement that so many people in my age group have. I’m seeing it more and more, and stuff like this (as stupid as it is) is a real eye-opener when it comes to that.

SO KIDS:
1. It won’t kill you to do what you’re obligated to do (grown-up shit).
2. A little hard labor isn’t going to kill you.
3. You have to earn shit.

Alrighty. End pissy rant.

WAIT, not yet, because we also have an ice storm coming in right behind this nonsense. Oh, and the city of Troy keeps blocking my driveway in and covering up the sidewalk in front of my house with their plowing. And looking at the roads, they seriously don’t accomplish much more than that.

As for the subject line, if you’re at work and somebody’s singing that shit during a hellacious snowstorm, I think you should be allowed to douse their desk with gasoline, toss a match on it, and belt out “OH THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS FRIGHTFUL, BUT THE FIIIIIIRRRRE IS SOOOO DELIGHTFUL.”

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. December 16, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    Here, here.

  2. December 16, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    You’re my hero.

    • December 17, 2007 at 1:03 am

      I’m going to feed my ego by making “Kevin is LeVanna’s hero” as my status message.

      PS On Facebook.

  3. December 16, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    woah you completely have some snow rage cooking … see what happens when you live upstate?

  4. December 17, 2007 at 12:49 am

    What the Hell happened to make so many of the males of my generation lazy primadonnas?

    Seriously! I’m not big on gender roles and all that jazz… but the lack of guys in their mid to late twenties who are MEN and do MANLY THINGS like SHOVEL SNOW instead of making their girlfriends do it is very, very sad.

    • December 17, 2007 at 1:17 am

      Seriously. Everyone should be as awesome as me. And every picture should be as awesome as your icon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

