Home > Uncategorized > More HOLLERday celebrations, Ryan Gracie Dead, The 2008 R&R Hall of Fame Inductees, and more

More HOLLERday celebrations, Ryan Gracie Dead, The 2008 R&R Hall of Fame Inductees, and more

Today was good. Went to pgnblade and thebigfatman‘s holiday party this afternoon. Good times. I ate way too much and polished it off with a Vanilla Chai when I got home. I also played Guitar Hero for the first time ever (Greg aka pgnblade has Guitar Hero III for the Wii). I selected “Holiday in Cambodia” and scored an 85% (maybe a little higher?). It was on Easy, though, so that means nothing. I will admit that it’s fun and addicting, and after doing two more songs I put the damn thing down so I wasn’t spending the entire night forcing people to watch me press multi-colored buttons while spouting mundane quips like “Poison? Man, they sure do toss the phrase ‘classic rock’ around like candy AM I RIGHT FOLKS?!”

I realized that next week I won’t nearly be as bogged down as I have been the past two weeks, so I’m heading over to their place to chill out at some point, have dinner, and play that game some more. Damn is it fun. The only problem is that I instinctively want to play the song as it’s played. Not so much on a guitar specifically (since I don’t play any instruments), but I’ll anticipate a note on a song I’m familiar with and try to coincide my taps with that rather than what they actually want you to press.

But that’s enough about Guitar Hero III. I want to thank Greg and Andrea for hosting their holiday party, which was an absolutely lovely time. Even though I felt like SUCH A GODDAMN FAT KID while picking food from the table. The holidays are killing me this year.

Didn’t do a damn thing after I got home from the party, as my plans were cancelled when Victoria informed me that she decided not to come up this weekend due to the anticipated storm late tonight/tomorrow. Which was the smart thing to do on her end, but it left me sitting alone and adrift in a great sea of boredom called Troy. On the plus side, the Vanilla Chai I picked up from Dunkin Donuts on Hoosick (which I got a craving for after Samantha went on a rant during a phone call about the Watervliet Dunkin’s no longer carrying it) was a good substitute for company and/or evening activity.

…I turn 26 in a little over a month and my weekends are only going to get sadder from here on out. Bear with me.

Ryan Gracie Dead
Ryan Gracie is dead at 33.

Considered the wayward son of the Gracie clan, Ryan always had controversy and trouble surrounding him. At first it was stories of general thuggish behavior that arose around the time of his Pride fight with Kazushi Sakuraba in 2000 (his second and most high profile bout in MMA), and it’s ended with this.

For those who didn’t bother clicking the link, Gracie was found dead in a jail cell in Sao Paolo, Brazil. He was arrested after allegedly stealing a car at knifepoint from an elderly man, then going on a joyride that culminated in him almost killing someone riding a motorcycle and having to be taken out by the motorcyclist to prevent him from hurting anybody else. He was arrested on the spot, held, and tested positive for cocaine, crack-cocaine, and marijuana. The cause of death is believed to be heart failure, most likely a result of the heavy amount of drugs in his system.

Knowing his past, it’s certainly not surprising. However, it’s still amazing to me that a guy can headline at the Saitama Super Arena at the height of the MMA boom in Japan and then a scant seven years later be found dead in a jail cell.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
The inductees for the Class of 2008 have been announced. I fully realize that complaining about or otherwise scrutinizing the selection of certain inductees (particularly on the internet) is almost as mundane as induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. However, it being a Saturday where my evening plans were canceled, I’m bored so I’m going to do it anyway.

And the nominees are…

Madonna: This one’s not nearly the outrageous induction that everyone else seems to think it is. As much as people may feel that her overexposure has tainted whatever shallow legacy she may have had, the simple fact of the matter is that she was a female star like none other before or after. Even if those influenced by her music and career may not have contributed anything, and even if you don’t agree with what specific impact she had, she did have one and it was big. She was a free-thinking, intelligent, and provocative woman whose level of exposure and interest in the mainstream will most likely never be matched. To deny her entry is to deny logistics.

John Mellencamp: In all honesty, for all my sarcasm I don’t really hate John Mellencamp per se. However, I can’t really figure out why he’s on this list. I don’t hear any musicians citing him as a great influence, and though a couple of his songs are known to anyone who was sentient in the mid-1980s, he wasn’t exactly a supernova in the music industry. Know what they should do? They should create a new Hall of Fame specifically tailored to honor the poor man’s version of greater artists. For example, in lieu of Bruce Springsteen, we can have Johnny Cougar here in his place. And instead of The Beatles, we can have The Dave Clark Five. Okay…who else is on here?

The Dave Clark Five: …seriously? Geez.

The Ventures: I’m sure there are people out there, and perhaps people reading this very blog, that can find some justification for a surf-rock instrumental group not named Dick Dale and the Del-Tones getting into the Hall. I cannot.

Leonard Cohen: Okay, this is the sort of person (along with Madonna) that they should be inducting all the goddamn time. If the inductions weren’t so padded every year and had a complete balance of artists that have universal respect amongst afficianados and musicians alike (Cohen) and artists that changed the industry just by sheer popularity and staying power (Madonna), people might actually take this thing seriously.

Man, this induction ceremony is going to be the saddest in the history of sad R&R HOF induction ceremonies. I’m already cringing at the thought of which female pop singer who won’t be relevant in six months they’ll have covering Madonna. And also, there are only two people that should cover Cohen’s “Hallelujah” (which you know they’ll have performed at the ceremony): Jeff Buckley and Rufus Wainwright. All other covers are to be disregarded for sheer ineptitude and irrelevance. And for some reason, I think that we’ll sooner see Buckley rise from the grave to perform the song than see an invite extended to Rufus.

Quick side rant: one of the things that continues to make Rufus great is his over-the-top delivery, lyrics, and arrangements. That’s part of who he is. To criticize him because his later work is overproduced or “too bombastic” is to miss the point of who the guy is essentially and what he’s trying to do.

Ah well. I wonder if this year we’ll see Phil “Make You A” Spector in person rather than have a brief letter read from the accused murderer’s jail cell while thousands applaud like last year.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. December 16, 2007 at 6:01 am

    “Phil “Make You A” Spector”

    Kevin, baby, did you hurt your back reaching for that one?

    • December 16, 2007 at 6:40 am

      Hey, it was either that or “Felony Murder” Phil Spector. Be happy you got the one you got, bad as it was.

  2. December 16, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Zombie Jeff FTW!

    Actually, I’d love to see Coil do their cover of “Who By Fire” but once again, that would require a resurrection.

    Someone really ought to ‘shop Phil Spector’s face into The Spectre’s costume.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

