Home > Uncategorized > RIP Scraper/Brush, My Car Now Has a Name, Comics, and More

RIP Scraper/Brush, My Car Now Has a Name, Comics, and More

So as many of you in the area or who read the replies to a recent entry might already know, the first major snowstorm of the season was a bust. All we got was ice and a dusting of snow, and even the ice didn’t really freeze over until Monday night. So no snow day for me. HOWEVER, this winter has already claimed its first victim – my car scraper/brush (I’m so tired that I can’t think of the proper name so we’ll just go with that). I was brushing my car off this morning and the damn thing just snapped off.

Seriously, this is how it happened:
Me: Alright scraper/brush, you ready to do this?
Scraper/Brush: *in a deep baritone* Awwwww shit. I’m gonna get all up on that and make it shine.
Me: Well then do it!
Scraper/Brush: *hits the driver’s side window* Ohhhhh, damn. Yeaaaaahhhhh. Hold on, baby, going to the rear…almost there *FAIL* *SNAP*
Me: …Scraper/Brush?
Scraper/Brush: I regret…only that I have one life…to give…to the Chariot.*
Me: *glancing skyward with tears frozen on my cheeks* AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH GET OUT OF MY WAAAAAYYYYY
Annnnnnnd scene

* Note: over the past two weekends, the car has been rechristened as The Chariot by Sammy Sam.

This story is not interesting or funny, other than to note that I literally was just brushing off my car and the damn thing just snapped right off. If I were a more cynical person and/or one of those people who has to blow everything out of proportion on the internet, I’d say that was an indicator of my life as of late. However, that’s far from the case, because life is kinda good lately. And maybe about to get a little better? We’ll see.

My sleeping schedule’s been so weird as of late. Not in a bad way, but more in the sense that I’ve been passing out on my bed at a reasonable hour and waking up ridiculously early. This morning was too ridiculous, though. I popped in “Live Free or Die Hard” and made it through fifteen minutes before the day caught up to me. I woke up to a DVD player that was turned off, a TV that was still on, and an alarm clock (not even set) that read 4:50am. I tried to fall back asleep, but it was for naught.

For the record, I was enjoying what little of the movie I saw. But if you disliked it and feel the need to tell people that you know somebody that it put to sleep, then more power to you.

WEBSITE UPDATE
…there is none. Sorry kids, but the holiday season sorta sucks like that. Again, not making any promises. I attempted to watch the DVD for International Wrestling Syndicate’s “Blood, Sweat, & Beers 2007” so that I could do a podcast with booker/ring announcer/personality Llakor a.k.a. Mike Ryan, but Disc 1 completely failed in my DVD player. I’m going to give the player in the living room a shot and see if it works there. I haven’t tried Discs 2 and 3 yet, but hopefully if it’s a problem with the disc then the other two won’t follow suit. In the meantime, post in the goddamn forums.

COMICS THIS WEEK
Yes, I’m a nerd. Skip over this part if it breaks your Cool-dar.
Countdown to Final Crisis #21 – I gotta give props to Paul Dini. With all the bullshit going on in the DCU these days and the unenviable task this weekly book has of tying it all together, I jumped in two weeks ago and haven’t had any problems figuring out what’s going on. Meanwhile, I also don’t feel like it’s being dumbed down in order to accomplish that feat. And that, my friends, is what makes a good writer. The Piper/Trickster stuff looks to be coming to a sad end (maybe), which is a shame because their stuff’s been great. Stuff’s still happening on Apokolips. There’s other stuff I can’t get into without spoiling it. This and the previous issue weren’t nearly as good as Superman Prime torturing Mr. Mxyzptlk for information he doesn’t have in Issue 23, but it also wasn’t bad.
Countdown to Arena #1 – Meh. Elsewords characters fight each other to be on Monarch’s Multiverse Villain Squad. Except not all of them are villains. In fact, most of them aren’t. I’m guessing it’ll be revealed that Monarch is well aware that if you put two heroes with morals into a three-way free-for-all battle with one villain, the villain will most likely win due to being the only one willing to murder. It’s only one issue, but thus far the concept isn’t nearly as fun as I thought it would be.
Justice League of America #15 – A fun but somewhat anti-climatic end to the JLA/Legion of Doom storyline. McDuffie does a good job of (like I said) making the book fun, but it’d be nice if there was a little more substance to it.
Justice Society of America #11 – What used to make this one of the best books – its tendency to be a decent team book while also providing character development – is gone. It’s still not bad by any stretch of the imagination, but there’s just too many damn members. As a result, I care about none of them. And they’re launching another “recruiting drive” storyline, so that we can introduce even more new characters that nobody’s going to care about. The positive, though, is that Kingdom Come Superman appears to be the new member of the team. That’ll be interesting.
The All New Atom #18 – After a spectacularly failed date with the villain Giganta, new Atom Ryan Choi now finds himself teaming with Wonder Woman against the telepathically controlled populace he’s supposed to protect. The book’s still good, but it’s gotten to the point where the Eureka-like concept of a crazy town where crazy shit happens all the time – and everyone knows it’s something scientific/supernatural/what-have-you – is wearing a little thin.
The Ultimates 3 – Holy shit. Pick up this book. I didn’t read the previous two “Ultimates” mini-series, but I’ve heard a lot of good things and it’s time the trades for that went on my Amazon.com wishlist (to be posted soon).

OTHER RANDOM STUFF:
– I’m still in love with UNKLE’s “War Stories”. It’s become one of those albums where I hear a certain track and all of a sudden it’s like hearing it for the first time. So yeah, I’m recommending it. AGAIN. Admittedly, it’s a safe bet to make that you will not like it nearly as much as I do.
– I discovered, completely by accident, that I’ve been accruing 4 vacation hours per pay period rather than the 1.85 I was earning because I’ve been at my current job for over a year. That means I can take time off at the end of December/early January and not be completely fucked when May rolls around and I need to take three days off for my brother’s wedding in Yosemite. HUZZAH!
– I almost blogged about the fact that I didn’t hate “Transformers” as much as I thought I would. Then I realized that I already mentioned that, like, two entries ago. I didn’t like the film that much, I just need sleep that much.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. December 6, 2007 at 4:17 am

    I rather liked Live Free OR Lie Hard.

    I bought a new ice scraper because last year mine broke or got lost or my sister stole it.

    • December 6, 2007 at 12:59 pm

      Damn things don’t seem to have a very long shelf life.

  2. December 6, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Don’t hate on the Transformers man, it rocked! … Also, a debit card makes an excellent ice scraper … BTW we had floods of biblical proportions here 11+ inches of rain … Ahhh Seattle … no wonder Kurt killed himself.

    • December 6, 2007 at 12:58 pm

      I bet his suicide note really just said “why’s it always raining”.

      And no way am I using my debit card as an ice scraper. Don’t get me wrong, I believe you when you say it’s effective, but I use mine for stuff!

  3. December 6, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    This has nothing to do with the post, but after going to the ROH show on 12/1, I just had to point out to someone that Bobby Dempsey is fucking awesome, and I thought you might be just the man to tell that to.

    That is all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

