Home > Uncategorized > My cold is a total cock tease (and some quick UFC stuff)

My cold is a total cock tease (and some quick UFC stuff)

As it says in the subject line, this cold was a total cock tease today.

Before going to bed last night, I was looking forward to waking up today feeling refreshed, rejuvenated, and not quite as sick as I was yesterday. I slept in until 1:00pm, and all was well. I felt good enough that I decided I could run some errands, hit up a meeting, and get the five loads of laundry done that I desperately needed to get clean.

Mission accomplished. Except once I was done with the laundry, I felt like total crap.

Granted, I hadn’t taken any medication or anything, but still. What the fuck. I woke up this morning feeling like I could do backflips and drop elbows on invisible opponents like an excited Ric Flair. And yet, here I was at 6:30pm, completely zonked.

So of course, my sister calls and being the idiot that I am I decided to meet her out somewhere and take her a few places before dropping her off at her house (she got a very early start on her Saturday festivities). It was an absolutely hilarious time, but it didn’t do my sickness any favors. On the plus side, I did manage to get three free glasses of orange juice (two at O’Leary’s and one at Holmes & Watson’s) out of the deal.

I got home around 8:00pm. I managed to get all the laundry put away, took a “non-drowsy” gelcap, and proceeded to get knocked the f out as soon as I laid down on my bed. I woke up around 11:30pm.

So now I sit, finishing up a thermos full of hot tea before moving on to another glass of orange juice and perhaps another gelcap. Again, though still slightly congested I’m feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. But who knows how long that’ll last.

I HATE this. I want to get out of my damn house for more than two or three hours without feeling like crap. There’s also somebody I want to see again/spend more time with, and that ain’t happening because of this damn disease.

It doesn’t help matters much that I’ve been unable to do a podcast because of all this (I’ll spare you all from Living Under Marshall’s Congestion) or get my thoughts in order enough to write an article for the site. Even the hobbies that require menial physicality are eluding me simply because I can’t go more than fifteen or twenty minutes without feeling completely zonked.

Yeah, I know, I’m a big baby when I get sick. God forbid if I actually had the flu, in which case I’d be an irredeemable grump. Well, moreso than I am right now anyway.

Obviously, I missed tonight’s UFC. That might have been for the better, as I’ve heard it described as being on the level of a terrible UFC Fight Night on Spike TV. Supposedly the prelims were good, but none of them ended up on the Pay-Per-View feed. Quick results:
LIGHTWEIGHT FIGHT: Frankie Edgar def. Spencer Fisher via Unanimous Decision. No surprise there. If what I’m reading is any indication, and considering he’s already fought (and beaten) Tyson Griffin, can we please put a halt to the trolls on MMA message boards saying that Edgar is somehow being “protected”? Because I just don’t see it.
LIGHTWEIGHT FIGHT: Ed Herman def. Joe Doerksen via KO seconds into the 3rd Round. I’m told this fight was the only one of the night that was redeemable, and even that was just for the closing seconds of the 2nd round and the finish. Shockingly, before tonight there was talk of Joe Doerksen and BJ Penn fighting for the Interim Lightweight Championship a couple months down the line. I shit you not – the guy who hasn’t done all that much and got knocked out tonight against the guy who hasn’t beaten anyone of note other than Jens Pulver (who himself hasn’t been impressive) in the past couple years, top contenders for the LW Title. Unbelievable.
WELTERWEIGHT BOUT: Karo Parisyan def. Ryo Chonan via Unanimous Decision. Apparently Karo still can’t finish and still doesn’t know how to pass a guard. I like Karo despite his mental illness, but this is getting ridiculous. I want no more name-dropping from Joe Rogan during LHW fights. None!
LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT BOUT: Thiago Silva def. Houston Alexander via Ref Stoppage (punches) in the 1st. As soon as Alexander was taken to the ground it was over. All reports indicate that he couldn’t do anything offensively or defensively once it got there. It’s a shame, because the guy’s a machine on his feet and has charisma up the wazoo. Houston shouldn’t be taken too much to task for this…that’s just bad training, period.
LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT BOUT: Rashad Evans def. Michael Bisping via Split Decision. Said to have been a pretty terrible fight. Afterwards, Bisping said he felt he won the fight. That guy could get knocked unconscious for three full minutes and claim early ref stoppage. Poor Oliver Copp must’ve been having a fit when he heard that.

Two things to note in the prelim fights: apparently Thiago Alves’s decision win over Chris Lytle when the referee determined Lytle’s vision was being too obscured by bleeding went over like a lead balloon. Live reports go so far as to say that Alves’s eye looked a lot worse than Lytle’s and the crowd let the ref know it. Also, Joe Lauzon won in impressive and dominating fashion, and I’m still aghast that he’s fighting in freaking prelims. The kid’s awesome. Put him on the main card already.

The biggest news item coming out of the evening is that Dana White and Randy Couture are scheduled to meet after Thanksgiving and appeared to be very friendly towards each other at the event. There was miscommunication in that White and Couture were supposed to have a meeting last Tuesday, but Dana thought it was this coming Tuesday. Apparently they’ve smoothed that over. I wouldn’t put too much into it, but it’d be great to see those two crazy kids together again.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. November 18, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Your icon reminds me of an idea my friend, Haley, and I had when they banned smoking in restaurants down here. We were going to open up a “Smokers Lounge” and our advertising slogan was going to be, “Hey kids… you looking for a cool place to smoke?”

    Not as good as “Cock Teas,” but whatever.

    • November 18, 2007 at 6:47 pm

      and YOUR icon is one of my heroes. As much as I hate cigarettes and the toxic fumes that spew forth from them, I hate militant non-smokers worse.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

