Home > Uncategorized > Post- NYC

Post- NYC

Alright folks, I’m back from New York.

Quick Notes:
– The train ride up was uncomfortable due to Amtrak having only a loose grasp on the concept of climate control. However, I did watch the sun set for the first time in my 25 years on this planet.
– I had dinner when I got in with Whory Tory at Pete’s Tavern. The food was alright I guess; I had the shrimp Ceasar salad and the shrimp was hideously overcooked. When I met up with my brother, he informed me that O. Henry wrote “The Gift of the Magi” in one of its booths. I was wondering why, in the middle of dinner, I started penning some goofy short story about a former safecracker who saves a kid locked in a bank vault. Somehow I missed the part of the sign that said “THE TAVERN O. HENRY MADE FAMOUS.” But that’s me – Captain Oblivious.
– I got to spend time with my brother and future sister-in-law, as well as meet my new niece (Pop Tart). I normally don’t like small dogs, but that dog is freaking awesome and adorable.
– Bobby O and I caught up and talked about people we’ve known and people that are so awful at stand-up that they throw videos up on MySpace of them bombing at Gotham and are all “check this shit oooouuuuut”.
brianpdermody and I attended the ROH show on Saturday night. It was a decent show, but the other folks in the crowd reminded us why we’re embarrassed to be wrestling fans. More on this on an upcoming Podcast (today or tomorrow) on KevinMarshallOnline.com.
– I had breakfast Saturday morning at this absolutely wonderful shop. Apparently they’re a chain down there, and it’s just so chill and so cool to people watch. They make alright coffee and fabulous wheat bagels. So if you’re ever down on the Lower East Side near the Gramercy area, check it out (it’s called “Dunkin Donuts” which is just a fab name).
– On my way out I walked by a young, healthy-looking couple asleep on the sidewalk with a cardboard sign propped up in front of them that said “Broke and stranded in New York City; trying to start over”. There was other stuff on the sign, but I didn’t get a chance to read it. I’m hoping it was an artist trying to make a statement on something, because otherwise…what the fuck. Go home, kids.

There was other stuff, but I’ll spare you the monotonous details. Needless to say, I had a great time even though I didn’t speak to any women down there that weren’t either dating somebody, married, or engaged.

They’re missing out.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Anonymous
    November 5, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    “Bobby O and I caught up and talked about people we’ve known and people that are so awful at stand-up that they throw videos up on MySpace of them bombing at Gotham and are all “check this shit oooouuuuut”.”

    ….

    Are you talking about who I think you’re talking about?

  2. November 5, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Oops. My bad. That’s me.

    • November 5, 2007 at 8:59 pm

      No prob.

      You know, I did the same thing yesterday on a friend’s entry, and I noticed today when I first tried to post that it had logged me off again. I think something’s whacky with LJ’s cookies.

      But in answer to your question – no, it’s not.

  3. November 6, 2007 at 5:02 am

    this is my pining face

    Hahaha… oh yes, they’re definitely missing out.

  4. November 6, 2007 at 5:58 am

    I think they just never knew how hot you look with long, bright red hair. Or that you had a niece nicknamed Pop Tart. Awesome nickname.

  5. November 19, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Who looks better in a red wig? Hmm? 😉

    • November 23, 2007 at 4:48 am

      Hmm. That’s a tough call. It’s truly a battle of sexy that could destroy everything in a six-mile radius once it starts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

