Home > Uncategorized > Rock and roll angels, bring that hard rock Hallelujah.

Rock and roll angels, bring that hard rock Hallelujah.

I’m sure there are plenty of you on my friends list (LJ or MySpace) or reading this on the website that have noticed I haven’t been updating a whole Hell of a lot lately, and as such are expecting something of significance with paragraphs that connect to each other and expound upon a single theme or idea until reaching a very thoughtful and heartfelt conclusion.

Oh well!

I slapped on my ECW t-shirt (which I no longer have any interest in since the debut of Kevin Thorn, Shitty Vampire©) and spent late Sunday night and Monday night cleaning the kitchen…HARDCORE! I’m talking frantic scrubbing, bleaching, windexing, the works. And it’s STILL not where I want it to be, but at least now it’s somewhat presentable. YAY.

I just realized that I had it in my head all day at work to go somewhere to purchase a piece of my “costume” for Halloween – which is part of a larger ensemble gimmick that’s only making one appearance (this Friday) – and I totally fucking forgot about it once it was time to leave work. Until just now. I think I could still catch the place I planned on going to before it closes, but the weather’s FAR too shitty for that.

Over the course of the past few days, I’ve come to the realization that there are certain people that I need to make more of an effort to see, be around, and hang out with. I won’t name names, but some of y’all have been straight up neglected and I have to remedy that very, very soon.

Real quick, and this certainly isn’t directed at any one person or even a handful of inidivudals: I’ve noticed more and more over the past year that people who are almost constantly negative don’t seem to realize what buzzkills they are and how draining it can be to be around them. It’s…really tiring. And believe me, I come from personal experience as somebody who used to be SUPER NEGATORY about all aspects of life, and trust me – it’s not “them” or everybody else, it’s you. That doesn’t mean you haven’t been insulted, or disrespected, or any of that, but the whole world is far too big and far too busy to be concerning itself with making one single person miserable. No matter what happens, ultimately you’re the one responsible for your own happiness.

I’m getting to a point in my life where I just don’t have the time for it anymore. And that’s not to say I don’t want anybody coming to me with their problems. Far from it. But I think once you’re in your mid-twenties, you start putting things in perspective and asking that awful question that we all hate asking (“hey…maybe it’s me?”).

And no, I’m not trying to write a self-help book nor am I advocating one. But man, there really IS something to be said for a person’s approach to life dictating what will happen in it. If everything coming out of your mouth is negative, then you’re going to get a negative reaction from people no matter what you do, and in turn you’re going to make yourself even more miserable. I believe “vicious cycle” is the most applicable cliche.

And I know it’s easier said than done, because God Tom Waits knows it took me a looooonnnnng time to figure it out and do something about it.

I haven’t had any particular experiences recently that coerced me into going on this rant (and I fully realize how trite it is). It’s just that I was listening to somebody talk about someone that holds a negative outlook on life and how tiring it was to be around them. When they said that, it hit me that there are definitely people I don’t talk to nearly as often as I used to. And for a while after the conversation ended, I felt a bit of guilt and remorse (the atheism removes the Catholic but not the Irish) over what I first construed as me abandoning those people. However, I then realized that so many of these people that I’ve fallen out of contact with in the past year, two years, three years, four years, what have you – none of them experienced anything resembling what I would consider a horrible life or unspeakable tragedy. And those I DO know that have aren’t nearly as negative. And, ultimately, it’s up to those individuals to stop being miserable.

Oh, and also speaking from personal experience – stop allowing stuff that’s utter bullshit in the long run to occupy so much space in your head.

“Hard Rock Hallelujah” by Lordi makes me giggle like a little girl every time I listen to it, because I always picture the song performed by various Muppet Monsters. For those wondering, the blue furry one with the two fangs sticking out of the bottom half of his mouth (I can’t for the life of me think of his name) is the lead singer and one of the Honkers is playing drums.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. October 24, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    so… if I understand you correctly… you’re saying that those negative people should experience a horrible tragedy to snap them out of it. I’m in! What do you have in store for them?

    as for Lordi, what you’re imagining’s not far from the truth.

    • October 24, 2007 at 8:11 pm

      We should make them watch a Yushin Okami fight.

      I’ve seen Lordi, but their cheesy costumes are more GWARish in nature. They need to be muppets.

  2. October 24, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    We need to hang out. If only to get your 300 comic back. Then you can totally drop my ass.

    • October 24, 2007 at 8:12 pm

      OH MY GOD! You don’t even know…I was going nuts last week trying to figure out who had my copy of “300”. And it was YOU!

      Yeah. Call me soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

