Home > Uncategorized > On Dr. Tom Bulger

On Dr. Tom Bulger

Again, when I first decided to post this, I was going to make it a private (re: friends-only) entry. However, I’ve seen and heard enough reaction to this that I think it bears viewing by anyone who might stumble by it.

In more personally shocking news today, Siena Professor Dr. Tom Bulger was arrested for forgery after lifting a friary credit card and using it to buy beer and lottery tickets.

I never had Dr. Bulger for a class, but I had spoken to him on occassion and know a few people who not only had him for class but became fairly close to him. I know one person in particular who thinks quite a lot of him.

It’s obvious from the end of the article that there’s a bigger problem in Tom’s life than the charges he faces for stealing a credit card and going on a spending spree. I ask that people keep that in mind while processing this latest news item.

It’s a highly embarrassing situation that may cost him his entire livelihood, has made him a public spectacle, and has more importantly raised a huge red flag. Whether it’s a problem with habits or directly attributable to his health in recent years isn’t for me to speculate, but from what I know of the guy, it’s way out of character and something’s clearly wrong here.

So rather than scolding him like a bad child, or developing a false sense of superiority about it and talking about him as if he’s total scum, please take the time to consider that you may very well find yourself in a situation like his. I know I’ve sure hit my own bottoms, and even though I didn’t end up in the newspaper (thankfully) – it sucks, folks.

Siena may simply put him on a Leave of Absence and allow him to identify and address his problems. Here’s hoping.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. October 12, 2007 at 1:26 am

    I’ve never had Bulger either but damn…I hope he gets help too. This is just shitty for him. Public speculation won’t help but hopefully the school will back him.

  2. October 12, 2007 at 3:18 am

    I think what sells it for me is how candidly he’s speaking about it. On the one hand, some one might take it for some one without a conscience. However, I really, really don’t think so. I think it’s the ultimate cry for help.

    I’m popping him an e-mail right now. Lord knows when he’ll read it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

