Home > Uncategorized > I think we’ve felt enough of the pain from “Chocolate Rain”

I think we’ve felt enough of the pain from “Chocolate Rain”

Ladies and gentlemen of the internet: ENOUGH WITH THE FUCKING “CHOCOLATE RAIN” PARODIES ALREADY.

In particular, the ones where you just sing tragically unfunny lyrics to the tune of the original. It wasn’t funny the first time I saw a guy do it, and it wasn’t funny the forty-sixth time someone did it. Also, any of your friends who say “HA HA THATS FUNNY” are totally just placating you just like they do to me when I post songs about Harry Potter’s dead bird.

…c’mon, if you don’t know by this point, you don’t care.

To be fair, I really didn’t find the original video all that funny. It was goofy and different seeing a guy in his twenties who looks like he’s about thirteen years old singing bad lyrics in forced baritone. It got a LITTLE funnier when he posted the cover of Rick Astley’s “Never Gonna Give You Up”, but even then I couldn’t get all that much into it. It’s all sort of amusing I guess, but I’m baffled that it’s become such a huge internet fad. Well, maybe I do, I just don’t think it warrants poor imitators.

Maybe part of the reason I’m so annoyed is that deep down, sometimes I feel the pain of Chocolate Rain (the Irish have been the shit-upon for so long in Europe and all). It’s certainly possible that as much as I tell myself otherwise, I know EXACTLY what he’s talking about and think it’s TOTALLY DEEP.

Or maybe I’m just getting too old. Maybe I don’t understand all these crazy kids and their Harold Pothead and their Chocolate Rains and their Digg Dugg articles and their Farks and their eBaums and their Furry fixations. Okay, okay, furries will always be funny.

Oh, and to random dude with the featured video on MySpace last week: filming yourself singing stuff like “what the Hell is this song all about” to the aforementioned tune doesn’t make you a “professional comedian.” On a related note, dudes: taking a picture of yourself in front of a mirror doesn’t make you a photographer, nor does saying you are one make it any less creepy when you randomly message chicks asking if they’d like to take part in a “photo shoot.”

This is the sort of thing that angered me when Time Magazine chose “YOU” as Person of the Year due to the explosion of user-created content on sites such as YouTube. I know it’s just me being a total dork, but I don’t feel like YouTube should be rewarded for not having as much cool shit on it anymore and having way too many people filming themselves talking about the most mundane details of their lives. The internet – specifically “user-created content” and blogs over the past several years – has created uncontrollable monsters that are convinced everything they say and do is fantastically unique and needs to be not only shared but forced on other people.

Well, maybe not blogs. For whatever reason (most likely because I maintain a pretty awful blog myself), I find it far less obnoxious to read trite bullshit than to listen to and/or watch it. Example: imagine the words of this LiveJournal read by me, on-camera, and posted on YouTube. EXACTLY, IT’D BE FUCKING AWFUL!

There’s times where I really wish the internet would just…break. I’m talking a completely collapse leaving nothing left but old cached Geocities pages and Craig’s List ads where married straight men post requests from handjobs from dudes because they’re “curious” (gay but Protestant).

If I can dream…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. August 17, 2007 at 3:00 am

    YouTube is good for two things and two things only:

    1. The State Clips, because well, we need something to dip our balls in.

    2. Video of cute animals doing cute things. It’s like Pets on Demand. I never get tired of it.

    • August 17, 2007 at 3:38 am

      I don’t expect the State clips to be up for too much longer with the DVD coming out within the next few months. But I won’t care, because I’m totally buying that shit the day it comes out.

      And no video will ever be cuter – or better – than the sleepy kitten.

      • August 17, 2007 at 6:32 am

        I think I spend too much time on the internet, and then I read things like this and I feel better about myself because I have no idea WTF you’re talking about.

        I live in a bubble.

  2. August 17, 2007 at 8:40 am

    I am kind of baffled how the internet adopted this weird fad. I originally sent it to you for the pure “wtf?” factor and then we giggled.I thought it would be the end.

    I will say, though, Vadar ‘Chocolate Rain’ upgraded giggle to ‘chuckle.’

    • August 17, 2007 at 8:41 am

      (And I’ll fight you on “Never going to give you up.” If any thing should have been an internet fad, it should have been that)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

