Home > Uncategorized > Marshall and Ice Cube Are Reppin’ Their Good Day

Marshall and Ice Cube Are Reppin’ Their Good Day

I took a day off today. See, my supervisor’s off tomorrow, and earlier in the week I decided I’d still try to use a vacation day while I could still do it during the Summer months. I could’ve waited until Monday and gotten a three-day weekend, but I just…needed a day off. Immediately.

I made myself available to thebigfatman and pgnblade in case they needed help moving. Unfortunately, their house still hasn’t closed, so they’re in moving limbo. Fortunately for me, that meant I could sleep in.

So instead I did the following:
– Had lunch at Holmes & Watson’s and caught up with Matt.
– Went in search of a store that sold fedoras that used to be located in Latham Farms. Apparently, it’s not there anymore. Or maybe it never existed, and Seth bought his hat in 2002 from a GHOST SHOP!
– Visited with my father.
– Received pleasant phone calls from my family.
– Got a medium iced chai at the Daily Grind in Troy and walked around downtown (I’m so bohemian or something!).
– Went to my sister’s to play with my nieces and have dinner.
– Came home and watched the first half of Jim Jarmusch’s “Dead Man.”

It was sort of like the following video for Ice Cube’s “It Was a Good Day”. Except I didn’t eat breakfast, don’t have hydraulics in my car, didn’t play basketball, didn’t watch Yo MTV Raps while I asked “what’s the haps on the craps”, I didn’t meet up with a woman in a motel or hit the chronic, the Lakers didn’t even PLAY the Supersonics, didn’t put anyone’s ass to sleep, the lights of the Goodyear Blimp didn’t read “Marshall’s a Pimp”,

On the other hand, nobody I know got killed in South Central L.A. (and I didn’t even have to use my AK!). Today was a good day.

I saw “Sicko” last night. More about that some other time.

So yeah, if anyone knows where to pick up a decent fedora around these parts, let me know.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. August 3, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Dead Man is the awesomest Johnny Depp movie that nobody has ever seen. It’s what jumpstarted my severe crush on the man before he made that pirate thing and every other woman in the world got all wibbly over him

    • August 3, 2007 at 5:29 pm

      I’ve seen it and I agree that it’s awesome.

      • August 3, 2007 at 6:28 pm

        Watched the second half after my entry last night. I think it’s easily good enough to warrant an LJ entry (from me) at some point this weekend gushing about it. I fucking LOVED that movie.

    • August 3, 2007 at 6:27 pm

      The “Do you know my poetry?” line Depp delivers before shooting one of the Marshals pursuing him is one of the coolest goddamn things in a movie EVER.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

