Home > Uncategorized > Father’s Day and An Important Plug

Father’s Day and An Important Plug

There’s quite a bit to write about, but I think it’s going to wait until tomorrow. There’s something about this sort of weather that stymies any attempts at a proper entry. To use a cliche, it’s not so much the heat as it is the humidity. My hair in particular does not do well in humid weather, and I’m going to go on a huge illogical stretch and say that it in turn affects my brain. So yeah, for now, I just want to note some important things to get them out of the way.

Firstly, I’d like to personally wish Artie, Greg, and all the other fathers that I know a very happy Father’s Day. Also, if you could, take a moment to remember those out there who have fathers that are no longer with us. I know a few people who have lost their fathers in the past several years, and one in particular who lost his own very recently. My thoughts are with them more so than any others on this day.

==========================================

Quick plug, and this won’t be the last time you see it.

I went to see the play “Twilight of the Gods” which features my very own roommate, Steve Henel. The play was written in the early 90s and revolves around a young couple who, through the boyfriend’s eugenics lab, find out that there’s a 90% chance that the child will be gay. What follows is a family crisis of conscience, mostly surrounding the decision of whether or not to keep the child and the ramifications of said decision on the potential mother’s own brother, who himself is a homosexual.

I was in the restroom during intermission and a man asked me what I thought of the play. He said he was enjoying it, but that he had a hard time grasping that an educated family could have any sort of discussion on this level and adopt some of the attitudes the characters in this play adopt. I was going to debate him, but it’s awkward to have a full-blown discussion about a play when you’re pissing into a urinal. My only thought, though, was that I can’t tell you how many well-educated individuals I’ve met in my lifetime who have decidedly uneducated world views. And that’s to say nothing of the question that come up due to religious beliefs (right or wrong).

I highly encourage any and all of you with even a passing interest in theater to check out this play. If you’re wondering, I’m not just bullshitting you because the kid I live with is in it. If I didn’t like it, or wasn’t going to recommend it, I simply wouldn’t write about it here. In particular, novice actor Edward Fennell – an older gentleman who plays the father (Walter Gold) of two of the main characters – shows a level subtlety and restraint in his performance that I’ve never seen on the local level. This is not to say anything of the performances provided by the other actors involved in the play, but there is a moment (you’ll know it when you see it) involving him that is so real, so raw, and so incredible that it’ll make your jaw drop.

TWILIGHT OF THE GOLDS
Thursday 6/21, Friday 6/22, and Saturday 6/23 at 8:00pm
Sunday at 2:00pm
Playing at the Joseph L. Bruno Theater in the Troy Arts Center
(located on River Street in downtown Troy next to City Hall)

Next weekend will be the final performances for this production. Don’t miss it.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

