Home > Uncategorized > Wednesday the 13th (Or: Everyone’s Losing Their Minds)

Wednesday the 13th (Or: Everyone’s Losing Their Minds)

Man, what a day.

The day started off the same way most days in the past week and a half in the new place have started off – I overslept and ended up having to almost literally run to work to make it on time. It’s the blessing and curse of living so close to your place of employment – you can often fool yourself into thinking you have more time to make it than you actually do. I ended up a few minutes late, however it didn’t matter since my supervisor hadn’t arrived yet. As it turns out, she didn’t make it in today at all. No call or anything. Very weird, since she wasn’t slated to take a vacation day until next week, but whatever.

So it was pretty slow until about 10:00am, when an entire group of customers (I assume from one of the Summer Programs) came in. I was a little perturbed since our office wasn’t given any semblance of a heads up that these guys were all coming in, let alone all at the same time. And of course, they didn’t have anything prepared, nor did they make any attempt to communicate to me why they were there. I really couldn’t make out what they were saying, so I sent them over to the International Office. I honestly wasn’t trying to avoid work by passing the buck, I just wasn’t in a position to do anything for them.

About an hour later, I tried to use my identification card and it wasn’t working. It wasn’t even giving me an error – nothing was happening at all when I tried swiping it. So I called the Access Control Office to determine if something was wrong with the system, and of course there was no answer. Again, somebody else taking a vacation day and not informing me as such. This was par for the course for the entire day – literally nobody answered their phone the entire day. Then, I go upstairs to the cafeteria for lunch, and of course it’s closed down. I ended up just eating one of the protein bars I had in my desk, which…bleh.

Not having anything else to do since nobody else at that damn place wanted to go to work today, I decided to call my mother to see if any mail had arrived. I’m specifically waiting on my next Netflix movie (the Hellboy animated “Sword of Storms” movie which didn’t come here today either – nor did any mail – so I had to report it as missing in the mail) and something from the U.S. Postal Service. I found out on Sunday that you can change your address with the US Postal Service online, so I filled everything out, gave them my credit card number (they charge $1 to your card and then refund it just to verify the address). They verified my new address, and then a page came up informing me that the next step would be them sending something to my old address – you know, the one I no longer reside at – which I would then have to send in to verify that I am moving to my new address. So…yeah, why bother with the credit card verification? Or even putting it online in the first place? Granted, it’s my own fault for not taking care of it before I moved, and it’s not like there won’t be somebody there at the old place until the end of the month. But still, it’s not nearly as convenient as they make it out to be.

So yeah, I called my mother, and even though she’s not moving until July 1st she’s already checked out of the place. She couldn’t have been home more than a half-hour from work, and she was WRECKED, which is totally out of character for her. I asked if any mail had come, and she just gurgled and mumbled something about being hungry. More power to her and all, even though drinking isn’t my thing anymore (that’s an understatement), but 3:00pm? Jesus.

5:00pm rolled around, and in all seriousness, I don’t think I’ve ever had a longer eight and a half hours at work. I was accosted by three homeless guys, tattered clothes and all, during my three-block walk home. It figures that I can’t even reach anybody while at work, and then once I get out I can’t walk fifty feet without being bothered. One of them was eating what looked like spaghetti and meatballs with his bare hands. Please note that I say it looked like spaghetti and meatballs. I have no idea what it actually was, and I don’t want to know. And Jesus, did they smell. I guess it’s a combination of the heat, humidity, and recent storms or something. But man, they smelled like death. Seriously.

I was going to do laundry when I got home, but I was so frustrated and zapped that it just wasn’t happening. I decided to call mourningdove to rant about the day’s troubles. Maeve’s always been a good listener, and she was fantastic today – I just ranted and ranted, and she just sat there silently offering nothing but the occassional “UUUUUUUUUUUUUHHHHHHHH.” I was like “I know, right?! What the fuck?!” God bless her, though…she was obviously exhausted from grad school and working the Duck Tour, but still took the time out to listen to me ramble on about absolute nonsense. I finally let her off the phone, but not before she randomly went “GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGH.”

HAHAHAHAHAHA! Maeve so crazy!

Alright, there’s like fifty drunk guys hanging out outside my house. Which is weird, because I could’ve sworn the Flag Day Parade wasn’t until this Sunday. And now one of them’s on my porch. So much for relaxing on the couch and watching Fox News’ “The 1/2 Hour News Hour” on DVR.

More later…

This LJ entry was written as part of Blog Like It’s The End Of The World (BLITEOTW) and was completely fictional. Which should have been apparent by the last line about “The 1/2 Hour News Hour,” since nobody watches that show.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. June 14, 2007 at 5:01 am

    lol wow am I dense. I didn’t get it till I read the last bit.

    • June 15, 2007 at 4:35 pm

      No, not an example of you being dense. It’s more that I really didn’t make it clear enough what was supposed to be going on. Ah well.

      • June 16, 2007 at 12:56 am

        no it was better that way cause otherwise i would have just skiped it after a bit

  2. June 15, 2007 at 3:26 am

    Dude. I was totally believing all of that and then I read the bit about the 1/2 hour news whores and ALL the WTF alarms in my head went off.

    Actually, I was prepared to give you the benefit of the doubt – ie ‘alright, if Kevin’s watching it, there must be a good reason…’

    • June 15, 2007 at 4:35 pm

      Good thing I put a disclaimer at the end.

      That show is wretched.

  3. June 15, 2007 at 4:09 am

    NNNNNNGGGGGGUUUUUU……

    • June 15, 2007 at 4:34 pm

      HAHAHAHAHA! Oh, Zombie Maeve, you are a DELIGHT.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

