Last night was Ed’s Barbecue. Good times, as always. There were no awkward moments completely out of our control (unlike last week), which was AWESOME. svexsal (now dubbed “P.J.”) and mourningdove (Maeve) showed up as well! It was a PARTAAAAYYYY or something.

I was all sorts of Martha and brought a vegetable platter and two containers of macaroni salad for the barbecue. And the fuckers didn’t even eat it! They all wanted meat, and that was it. Well, not all of them. There were a couple of folks, Ed included, who took part in the macaroni goodness. I meant to take the unopened container with me when I left, but forgot. C’est la vie.

I saw Spider-Man 3 today. I didn’t know what to expect going in – I’ve always felt the franchise was in capable hands with Raimi (who can balance not insulting the viewer’s intelligence while also not taking the material too seriously), but with the absolutely train wreck that was X3, there were times where I was doubting if a franchise could deliver on a decent third installment

Without getting into a full review, I felt everything worked. There were a few moments where I was like “wait a minute,” but other than that, I didn’t come out of it with too many complaints.

I was prepared to write a very lengthy blog entry detailing the weekend’s events, and when I sat down here I drew a complete blank.

SOME OTHER STUFF:

* Big Japan sold out Korakuen Hall on 4/30. Ten years ago, this probably wouldn’t have been a story, except New Japan did three shows this past week and not a single one sold out (even though claims of up to 2,000 were made for one show, some indications are that it wasn’t even at half capacity for one of the nights). This is the same company that used to do shows at the Tokyo Dome and damn near sell it out. Japanese pro wrestling is in a sad, sad state right now.

* I ended up not ordering De La Hoya/Mayweather, and they didn’t even get to the damn fight itself until almost midnight (here on the East Coast).

Again, drawing a blank. I’ll write more tomorrow.

Maybe.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 6, 2007 at 5:07 am

    You didn’t really miss much. It wasn’t a bad fight, but at no point did it ever really look like either fighter was going to do anything of substance to the other one. I thought it should have been a draw myself.

    • May 7, 2007 at 6:26 am

      I heard that one of the judges was on the fence about the 12th round, and had he ended up giving it to De La Hoya, that would have been the finish (a draw).

      I think the bigger story is Max Kellerman sticking up for MMA and Jim Lampley looking at him like he wanted to abuse his body.

      • May 7, 2007 at 11:54 am

        Not sure how exactly Jim Lampley looked at Max, since Max was a few hundred feet away in a totally different part of the arena.

        That said I was happy to hear Lampley say that, since at least it finally acknowledged the issue. All night long MMA was the unspoken 800 lb. gorilla in the room. Everyone kept talking around it but never mentioning it. Yes, Lampley is a moron, but at least he said it so everyone could hear him be stupid.

        Somehow I doubt any MMA fans who watched that fight, a boring sparring exhibition that might as well have involved guys wearing headgear, are going to be moved to many more boxing purchases. And as much as UFC 70 was kind of boring, nothing on Saturday night’s card came close to the moment of Gonzaga killifying Cro Cop.

      • May 7, 2007 at 12:13 pm

        Hmm. I was just told that he was given a stern look from whomever he was broadcasting with; I just assumed it was Lampley.

        What I found interesting were the arguments I saw pop up the day after the fight using the term “sweet science” ad nauseum and basically saying that boxing was an artform while MMA was barbaric and only appealed to the ADD-ridden combat sports fan. Besides the obvious argument that there are MMA fights that are technically sound (sometimes to a fault), I found it humorous because these same guys wouldn’t bury Tyson when he was in his prime for not having the “sweet science” down (since he was just a puncher that killed people early for the most part) and wouldn’t bury a Tyson-like fighter if he came out right now.

  2. May 6, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Write about how you killed terrorists!

    • May 7, 2007 at 6:27 am

      Oh, right.

      Guys, I killed terrorists wearing sunglasses (one of them looked like UMAGA) and Maeve took a very unflattering picture of it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

