Home > Uncategorized > T.N.O., Bitchicanes, and more!

T.N.O., Bitchicanes, and more!

So I left work yesterday and joined Ed for dinner at Holmes & Watson’s. When I got there, I saw Matt and he informed me that a passing acquaintance (who my sister knew fairly well) was shot the night before in his sleep by his girlfriend’s ex-husband and will most likely be paralyzed for the remainder of his life. They’re still looking for the guy, though I heard they’ve been searching Saratoga all night for him. Hopefully they find the fucker.

On a much lighter note, I’m going to open up a Dickens’ themed restaurant to compete with Matt’s. It’s going to be called “Like the Dickens,” and I’m still trying to decide what the David Copperfield is going to be.

Other than that the evening was just fine, though things did get awkward at times. After dinner we walked through the antique district. Mind you, two men spending a Friday afternoon walking through the antique district is normally pretty gay, but neither of us are despite the assumptions made by one Pete Namo. No, it was TROY NIGHT OUT, baby!

T.N.O.! (that’s what I call it for short, and you should too because acronyms RULE!)

We didn’t go into any of the art galleries. Half of them contained the typical white middle-class living room art, eg. paintings of a cottage in a meadow and shit like that. There was other stuff that was interesting, but not quite interesting enough to warrant a walk-through.

I think the most telling aspect of the sort of old white folk that attend the festivities was the following: we were walking by a gallery, and spotted a car that had crap glued on the sides of it and a sign that said “this car is part of the show – take a look at its ceiling!” Two harpies in their late fifties and/or early sixties were giddy about it, and repeating excitedly that the car was “part of the show!” At this point they smiled at Ed and I, and I stepped forward. I crouched down, took a look inside the car, and said “oh cool, he stapled the tablecloth from the Ale House on the roof of his car.”

For those of you who won’t get that reference, the Ale House had (I think still has) these table cloths that are collections of old newspaper advertisements from the late 19th and early 20th century. This, essentially, is what was in this guy’s car. The two women seemed a little put off by my comment, but seriously, what else is there to say? What sort of statement does it make to put old newspaper clippings – none of which have any bearing to one another and don’t provide the “OH MY GOD” moment promised by the exclamation point on the sign in the window – on the roof of your car? Perhaps some people would think it’s cool, and I probably would if the owner of the car didn’t throw up a sign encouraging people to accept it as a work of art. So potentially cool and/or representative of someone’s boredom, yes. But art? HARDLY. *Kevin adjusts horn-rimmed glasses, strokes chin, and puffs on his pipe*

Anyways, the only things I ended up purchasing were two CDs at The Beat Shop – R.L. Burnside’s “Come On In” and “Mississippi” John Hurt’s “Live” (which is a collection of live tracks cut at Oberlin College and the ’65 Newport Folk Festival). I’ve been looking for some good John Hurt stuff in there for awhile, and good ol’ Jimmy delivered. God bless that man and his store, which is located on River Street in the antique district of historic downtown Troy. *sticks thumbs up enthusiastically*

As far as the “Troy Night Out” concept goes, it’s fantastic. I think once the weather’s nicer and more cooperative on a consistent basis, it’ll be awesome. I’ll definitely be making a return engagement, whatever THAT means.

Anyway, after perusing the downtown area (which despite what ignorant folk who live outside of Troy might try to convince you is improving), we met up with our friend who might be a sexual predator (inside joke, kids) and a few other folks. They decided they wanted something to eat, and I followed suit even though I’d already had a caesar salad at Holmes & Watson’s. We went to Jose Malone’s and I ended up getting a cup of coffee, which was given to me in a wonderful saucer that gave me an undeserved sense of superiority. I then ordered the “soup of the day”, which was Cream of Zucchini. It was delicious, but Jose Malone’s markets itself as Irish & Mexican cuisine. Unfortunately, there are very few Irish items on the menu, and they exclusively play Mexican music. So really, it’s more like Jose Malonez’s than Jose Malone’s.

So things were cool for awhile until fucking drama erupted over a group of girls that showed up. It was one of those situations where whenever a group of girls left, more girls came over and were bitching about them. At one point one group of girls concocted this genius master plan of tricking the other girls into going to Ryan’s Wake so they’d leave. Then, about ten minutes later, that same group of girls that sent them to Ryan’s Wake to “get rid of them” followed them there. Perhaps more confusing than that was learning the reason why there was so much tension, which was an incident that occurred between two girls that wasn’t that big of a deal and didn’t even involve the other group that was so “sketched out” by the incident.

Crazy bitches, man. I tell ya. It was a good time, but not really my crowd. Decent folks, just not my crowd.

I went to Mishy’s (that’s how I’ve decided it’s spelled) party at her house after the awkward Bitchicane that tore through Jose Malone’s and destroyed our community. I saw Jenn and Amie there, which was awesome, because they’re awesome chicks and we always have an awesome time. Dare I say, we are Team Awesome. I didn’t end up staying there that long, because that whore Mishy kicked us all out. She’s dead to me now. Next time she has a party, I’m going to show up ridiculously early, and when she tries it again, I’m going to sing “we shall not be moved” and chant “no party, no peace.”

By the way, apparently there was awkwardness earlier at that party, as one girl (who didn’t know anyone at the part and came with two other people) made a loud derisive comment about lesbians being at the party! Again, crazy bitches, I tell ya!

So that was my Friday. Today I went to a meeting, stopped into work very briefly and found that our office printer might very well be effed in the A, came home at around 5:30pm and slept for about two hours. It was wonderful.

So, good weekend so far. Unfortunately there’s only one day left. Tomorrow will most likely be spent watching “The Queen” and “The Last King of Scotland,” both of which (particularly the latter) I’ve been wanting to see for quite some time.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. April 29, 2007 at 3:43 am

    Mississippi John Hurt has been the object of my musinecrosexual fantasies for quite some time.

    • May 7, 2007 at 6:32 am

      C-H-I-C-K-E-N
      That’s how we spell chiiiicken

  2. Anonymous
    April 30, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    T.N.O. are my favorites!

    I surprisingly love The Queen.

  3. May 7, 2007 at 6:31 am

    Why surprising?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

