Home > Uncategorized > Random, random stuff.

Random, random stuff.

Hey, here’s a bunch of random shit.

* Every few years, I’m reminded of how awesome some Duran Duran songs are. Stop laughing.

* I moved my father out of his apartment and into a new one today. All told, it took about ten hours, and the weather cooperated for about an hour and half before it became cold and rained the entire time. This, of course, after about five or six consecutive days of awesome weather.

About six or so hours in, I lost any semblance of energy. I stopped at a convenience store and picked up the “Rock Star” energy think. I figured, why not, since coffee doesn’t do anything for me mid-day and I haven’t heard anything particularly bad concerning the drink. Well, if you’re like me and you haven’t heard anything bad about the drink, you can no longer truthfully state as such. It is fucking AWFUL. AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. Imagine someone carbonated coffee, then added onions. Then peed in it. And their pee smelled bad because they had eaten asparagus. That’s what it tasted like.

* Rosie O’Donnell is off “The View”, and rumor has it that it has much to do with her support of the “Truther” movement (the belief that 9/11 was a grand conspiracy pulled off by the government despite the fact that the Executive Branch can’t even wiretap illegally without it leaking to the media). I’m sure “Truthers” will use this as evidence that “they” are suppressing the truth. However, I think it’s more that it’s embarrassing to be associated with anyone that subscribes to that movement. Seriously, have you ever talked to one of these people? I haven’t known any of them personally and even attempting to engage in any discourse, I become embarrassed for them.

* Vladimir Putin was at the “Bodog Fight” MMA pay-per-view this past weekend. I shit you not.

* I was at a dollar store today (we had to buy a couple things for my father’s apartment and they were insignificant enough where we didn’t want to bother spending money), and they had a display at the front counter – Double Feature Kung-Fu DVDs. Yes, you read that right. Two kung-fu flicks one 1 DVD. For a dollar. I bought two – one disc contains “36 Crazy Fists” and “Spiritual Kung-Fu” (both starring and one directed by Jackie Chan), and the other has “Champion of Death” (starring SONNY CHIBA~!) and “Shaolin Invicibles.” I haven’t checked on IMDB.com yet, but for a dollar per disc they’re most likely going to be pretty awful. However, they’re horrible kung-fu movies, which are often the best in the genre (eg: “Crippled Masters”).

* Speaking of DVDs, I finally watched one of the three Netflix films that’s been sitting on top of my DVD player for the past month plus – Kurosawa’s “Throne of Blood.” It’s a re-telling of MacBeth in feudal Japan, which…idunno. It was interesting, and I liked it enough, but it’s not one of those Kurosawa films that set my world on fire. Still, Mifune was awesome in his over-the-top whackiness.

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. April 26, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Have you seen “Ran” by the same guy? It’s the retelling of King Lear in the same way…it’s pretty cool.

    • April 26, 2007 at 1:08 am

      I fucking LOOOOOOOOVE “Ran.” What a gorgeous film.

  2. April 26, 2007 at 12:26 am

    sonny fucking chiba?

    oh bad ass.

    shit man, that’s fucking sweet.

  3. April 26, 2007 at 1:44 am

    You know that Rock Star drink was invented by reich-wing radio talk show host Michael Savage’s son, right? Some people hate it for that reason alone. The rest of us hate it because it tastes like carbonated stomach bile.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

