Home > Uncategorized > “Blades of Glory” would be awesome if it starred Jens Pulver and BJ Penn.

“Blades of Glory” would be awesome if it starred Jens Pulver and BJ Penn.

Third LJ post in…what, an hour? Whatever. Consider it making up for lost time.

Last night I got dragged out to see “Blades of Glory.” Perhaps “dragged out” isn’t the right phrase – it’s more that I really didn’t have any desire to see the movie, and wouldn’t have gone out of my way to do so or suggest it, but I also wasn’t entirely opposed to going to see it when a group of people I know said “hey, let’s go see ‘Blades of Glory’.” I figured, why not, it’s something to do.

“Blades of Glory” was, much to my surprise, really fucking funny. I was in tears for almost half of it, especially when Ferrell and Heder do their first skating routine. Will Arnett was fucking awesome, as usual. Him and Amy Poehler, playing a brother-sister pairs skaters who constantly bully their younger sister into spying on the competition, have the best bit in the film when they lay a guilt trip on her for surviving the car crash that killed their parents. Him laying on a couch and delivering the line “remember when they were still alive?” was classic. I’m glad to see him popping up in more stuff, because the guy’s brilliant.

I’m a GOB mark, what can I say?

Oh, and I know it doesn’t need to be said, but fucking ten dollars. Looking at what else was playing, it occurred to me that movies could make considerably more money by bringing down the price two dollars and having more than two movies out at any time that people actually want to see.

Also, the commercials. Jesus Christ, the commercials. I realize I was pretty obnoxious about it to both Ed (“Hey Ed, know what I like about going to the movies? You don’t have to sit through commercials!”) and by shushing everyone in the theater and loudly proclaiming “will you SHUT UP, I’m TRYING to watch The 20!” What put me over the edge is that they showed the MasterCard commercial with the elephant that goes to the drug store and uses his debit card to buy cold medicine for his handler. It bothered me that not only was this elephant able to get a bank account, but that also meant that he was issued a social security number and card. I’m absolutely appalled that something like this could happen post-9/11.

Sigh.

I didn’t bother ordering the UFC pay-per-view tonight. I’m of the contrary opinion that Matt Serra has a better chance against Georges St. Pierre than most are indicating. Then again, I really like the guy, so my view is skewed a little bit. I was also interested in seeing Mike Swick and the Sanchez/Koscheck fight. However, with nobody else around this weekend to watch it, I was ultimately forced to give in to my wallet’s vehement protests and pass on this one. Besides, St. Pierre/Serra could end pretty early and Sanchez/Koscheck has the potential to be a stupendously boring fight if it goes the distance (as much as people don’t like Diego, he’s right – Koscheck’s a good fighter but man are his fights ever boring).

In its place, I was considering buying Pride 34 when it goes on LIVE tonight at 3:00am from Tokyo. I changed my mind when I saw the card. No wonder this company got bought out – I mean, Fujita/Monson on top? Seriously? Jesus.

“I have risen!”

IT’S STILL SATURDAY.

“my bad lol”

More later…

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. April 8, 2007 at 4:54 am

    You missed it. My god, how you missed it.

    • April 8, 2007 at 6:34 am

      I am SO fucking pissed right now.

      Fuck my wallet. I’m never going without ordering a UFC PPV ever again.

  2. April 8, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    If you like Will Arnet…

    You’ll be happy to find the Will Arnett Research Project at http://blutharnett.blogspot.com

  3. April 8, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    My brother was up this week, which always turns into movie week. Saw Grindhouse (whee!). But he wanted to see 300 again, and so did the rest of the family.

    I don’t know if it’s because I went to kind of a Ghetto theatre or what. But that movie does not hold up on a second sitting.

  4. April 8, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    Did you see Will Arnett in 30 Rock last Thursday? He made the show kinda funny.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

