Home > Uncategorized > From the “I’m an Idiot” File:

From the “I’m an Idiot” File:

I had assumed with recent updates that I was set to go with Daylight Savings Time being enacted three weeks early this year, however my system clock was still showing an hour behind. At one point on Sunday I just said “fuck it” and set it an hour ahead, however after rebooting on Monday it returned to the former time (off by one hour).

Last night I spent 45 minutes on Microsoft’s website and tooling around with my computer. I kept going through the steps to make sure I had it right, and each time it kept informing me that I was up to date. Oh, and aggressively suggesting I download Internet Explorer 7, but I’m not making THAT mistake again.* I kept trying to troubleshoot over and over again, making certain that I was following all the correct procedures, reviewing recent updates, etcetera.

Somewhere around minute 44, it occurs to me to check the Date and Time Properties again. Out of curiosity I click on the “Time Zone” tab, and lo and behold, “Automatically adjust for Daylight Savings Time” is unchecked.

How it became unchecked (I’m assuming it was the update that did it since the system time automatically adjusted last Fall) is besides the point. I wasted 45 minutes of valuable time just so I could check a box. Unbelievable.

It’s good to see that anything resembling good weather in this area is fleeting. Rain and shit today, cold and snow this weekend. I’d say it’s putting me in a shitty mood, but that’d be a lie since I’ve been in one since yesterday morning. So, yeah. Look out or something.

Quick plug for IVPvideos.com. Awesome site, with plenty of stuff (as in wrestling stuff of course) from Japan and Mexico. I was able to snag DVRs of the 1997 New Japan G-1 Climax Tournament, the 2/16 NJPW Show, and the 2/17 AJPW show for like 12 bucks. Single discs are $2.99, double discs are $5.99. Special rates are available for DVDs with custom cover art if you have a really burning need for a cover. Great site to order from, particularly the guy running it (Chris Schoen) – my first order with him included an All-Japan show that turned out to be unavailable. Not only did he refund me right away with an explanation, but he went out of his way to overcompensate by including a DVD of “The Best of Eddy Guerrero: Volume 1” (his Mexico stuff) free of charge without me so much as mentioning it. Pretty cool, right? Right.

Ah, shit. Back to work.

* About three months ago(?), IE 7.0 was automatically installed with a “critical update” from Microsoft. As a result my Road Runner went completely whacky. I uninstalled it and called RR, who informed me that I was far from the only person that happened to. Goddamnit, Microsoft.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. March 15, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    If you have XP and upgraded to Service Pack 2, it’s quite possible that the upgrade reset some of your settings.

    • March 15, 2007 at 6:36 pm

      That might have done it, because at one point I was working under the assumption that I didn’t have SP2 updates installed. Then when I went to check, it said they were already there.

      However, I’m pretty sure I upgraded to SP2 quite some time ago. As in, last Summer. I’m just going to go ahead and blame this on Gates in lieu of admitting any ignorance on my part.

      • March 15, 2007 at 6:43 pm

        I blame Gates and Barry for all the world’s ills.

      • March 16, 2007 at 1:24 pm

        “I blame Gates, Jobs, and Barry for all the world’s ills.”
        Fixed.

  2. March 15, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I had auto update for DST checked, and on Saturday night, my system set my time an hour backwards. Had to manually adjust it, but it’s OK now.

    I fucking hate Daylight Saving Time.

    • March 15, 2007 at 6:30 pm

      But don’t you know that Daylight Savings Time is good for Big Oil? It allows them to raise gas prices.

      Dude, why you do you hate America?

      • March 15, 2007 at 6:33 pm

        I know, I’m a dirty turrist lovin’ commie. 😛

      • March 15, 2007 at 6:34 pm

        I FUCKING KNEW IT!

      • March 15, 2007 at 6:43 pm

        Pinko!

    • March 15, 2007 at 6:38 pm

      Two questions:

      1. Is this the same computer you had back West?
      2. If you answered yes to the previous question, are your Date and Time Properties set for this time zone?

      I only ask because that’s what it sounds like (the clock going back an hour from what you had previously adjusted rather than forward).

      • March 15, 2007 at 6:40 pm

        Yes on both counts.

      • March 15, 2007 at 6:48 pm

        Well son of a bitch. Oh well, I guess I’m the only person that’s stupid.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

