Home > Uncategorized > Latest name connected to Orlando Steroid Ring; brief thoughts on “Neon Bible”, more

Latest name connected to Orlando Steroid Ring; brief thoughts on “Neon Bible”, more

When I first read about the steroid ring that was busted in Orlando (thanks in large part to local boy David Soares), my initial response was “ruh roh.” It was a big enough story as it was, but when they leaked two names right off the bat (Garry Matthews, Jr. and a professional bodybuilder), I had a strong feeling more were coming and that as the investigation continued the story was going to get bigger and bigger.

In the time since the story broke, the names of Evander Holyfield and Jose Canseco were already leaked and there’s talk of looking into the involvement of the Steelers franchise. Canseco’s no surprise for obvious reasons. Holyfield sort of was, but considering his natural weight class is Cruiserweight and he had to bulk up a fair amount to become a Heavyweight, it doesn’t surprise me TOO much.

Neither does this, but oh man – Kurt Angle. This is gonna be interesting.

============================================

I want to go home so bad right now. It’s actually nice to have the office closed and get stuff done, but I have no desire to be here at all this week. It’s nothing wrong with work, just my sort of mood thing. If that makes any sense (which I’m sure it doesn’t). I’m sort of in a general funk (again) that I need to work out of. There’s peripheral stuff contributing to it that I won’t get into here, and most likely won’t post about in a private post or anything.

I gave the new Arcade Fire album “Neon Bible” a once-over spin the other night. I was sort of multi-tasking so there wasn’t much of a chance for me to allow the album to fully settle. Obviously I need to, though – it seems very interesting, though I’m not as immediately taken with it like I was with “Funeral.” I tend to do that with follow-up releases, and I get the feeling that once I give it a thorough spin, I’m going to enjoy it quite a bit. Until then, sit tight kids, because Lord knows you live and die by my shitty, shitty music reviews.

Quick reminder to some of you reading to check out the previous post about my Yahoo Fantasy Baseball League. I’ve got a couple people interested thus far, but need quite a few more, so don’t hesitate to let me know.

Scooter Libby is guilty. Again, not surprising, but it’s news. God help certain people in Washington if his appeal doesn’t go through, because boy, if I were going to jail for 25 years, I’d have nothing to lose and I’m sure he feels like more than a few people left him out to dry.

More later…

  1. March 6, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    If you want to talk, I’m easily accessable at work.

    I do live and die for your music reviews because you help me save money by not buying shitty music! That’s pretty heroic stuff, you know?

    I’m glad Libby is guilty, but I’m upset that they haven’t found anything on Cheney or Bush. Outting a CIA undercover agent is treason. I’d be willing to settle for house arrest for the Pres and VP.

    • March 7, 2007 at 3:37 am

      Ed brought up a good point earlier that I somehow didn’t even think of, that if he’s smart he’ll keep quiet for two more years and get a Presidential Pardon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

