Home > Uncategorized > Freaking guys…

Freaking guys…

This is the second day in a row that a girl came into the office with her boyfriend, treated him like he was 12 years old, and completely dog-abused him the entire time. And the worst part is that neither were very attractive or bearable (both in attitude and vocal inflection).

How the fuck could a person become so solely dependent on another person where they literally need to be ordered around? I say this because obviously it doesn’t bother a guy all that much if he continues to take it. Sure, you could equate it to the romantic equivalent of Stockholm Syndrome, but at their age nobody’s holding a gun to their heads forcing them to stay together. It’s really just sad, annoying, and pathetic. Truly.

I’ll have an update tonight, after I get back from dinner. Ed, Kelly, Fr. Wetsel IN THE HIIIIIIIGHEST and I are going to the Shanghai Grill in Newton Plaza. It’s supposed to be decent. Oh, and Steve and I filmed something last night that I hope to have posted within the week. More about that and other stuff – including assumptions people make that irritate and insult me profoundly and Mike Awesome/Alfonso’s shocking death by suicide – tonight.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. February 22, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    In my case… Barry needed to be ordered around like a teenaged boy because he literally did not know how to function in the real world. He only minded being told what to do when he didn’t want to do the right thing.

    It was sad and I’m glad I’m out. There are some people – like my Aunt Beth and her husband – that it works out for and they’re perfectly happy.

    • February 22, 2007 at 10:20 pm

      These weren’t girls trying to be helpful towards guys that are totally hopeless – they were straight-up uber bitches. As in they weren’t really being helpful so much as just interjecting and getting in the way of transactions. Completely miserable. Big difference.

      • February 22, 2007 at 10:42 pm

        I would have swatted them with my mousepad of justice.

  2. February 22, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    After wondering why people, both male and female, put up with relationships where their significant others order them around for a long time, I’ve come to the conclusion that some people are looking for that kind of thing, and unconsciously enjoy it. It’s sick, yeah, but I think a lot of folks seek out that “other half” because they don’t feel comfortable making decisions for themselves. When I look at the relationships of some of the people I’m close to (not naming names), I think “psychological abuse” while they think “happiness.”

    Unconscious shit is weird in relationships. I’ve tended to attract men who are really dependent… not in the sense that they want to be ordered around, but in the sense that they want some kind of weird mommy extension. The last guy I dated long-term even told me during our third date (I know, red flag, but the delivery was so funny that I found it bizarrely endearing at the time) that I looked like his mom when she was young. I got up to use the restroom, and when I returned there was a napkin draped over my seat that read, “Mommy’s Seat.”

    *begs Oedipus for some answers*

    • February 22, 2007 at 10:21 pm

      Your icon perfectly summarizes my reaction to your story. Except I’m not a black dude.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

