Home > Uncategorized > Weekend

Weekend

Friday
I managed to get out of work at 6pm on Friday, which considering how the week had gone was something akin to a miracle (Wednesday was the worst, where I was in for about 11 hours). Next week won’t nearly be as bad, hopefully. Good thing I’m not salaried.

Sally, Ellie and I went to Plum Blossum for dinner. If you haven’t been to Plum Blossum, you should go. The food was good and we had a lot of fun. Sally wrote me a postcard and demanded I write one for her too, but that had to wait until we got to Starbuck’s. Ellie gave us presents – cigars. I hadn’t had a cigar in years, so I was very excited. There was also a non-Asian waiter (not one who waited on us mind you) working at the restaurant, and I noted how I was always suspicious of Caucasian wait staff at a Chinese restaurant. Don’t ask me why.

After dinner, we went to Starbuck’s and I ordered Ellie’s favorite, which she can’t drink because of medical stuff. Before you say “wow, that sounds dick,” she recommended I get it. We sat around BSing for a bit, and I wrote Sally a postcard complete with a picture of JT being shot on DeGrassi.

By the way, no new DeGrassi this week. Boo-urns.

After Starbuck’s we came back here and smoked some cigars. It was fantastic.

THE END

I’m sure there’s more to write about, but I’m drawing a blank. One of those days.

Saturday
Went to the AA meeting and dropped into work to tie up a couple loose ends (literally taking me all of ten minutes) in the office before Monday. Bought about fifty bucks worth of music – Ghostface Killa’s “Fishscales,” Nas’s “Hip-Hop is Dead,” The Roots’ “Game Theory,” Scissor Sister’s “Ta Dah,” and Under the Influence of Giants’ self-titled album. I’ll post more about them once I’ve gotten the chance to listen, as I will with other albums (eg. Thom Yorke’s “The Erasure”) that I purchased in the past week. Of the albums I bought yesterday, the only one I’ve given a full spin is “Fishscales,” and it’s fucking fantastic.

Saturday night I hung out with Steve, his girlfriend and her friend and watched “Mirrormask.” I actually liked it a bit more than I was expecting, and the art direction (the look was based on director David McKean’s art) was gorgeous. It’s hard to believe they did all that they did with such a small budget. Gaiman’s script was great as well, with a girl’s coming of age and relationship with her mother as the backdrop without beating you over the head with blunt metaphors.

Then I watched the first two episodes of “Deadwood.” Three seasons back to back on my Queue, and I’m seeing what all the goddamn fuss was about (even if I’m way late on it).

Sunday
Did (and still doing) a bunch of cleaning. Watched the Saints/Bears NFC Championship Game, which was incredibly depressing. As far as the Saints go, despite a dismal second half which led to them ultimately being blown out, they had an incredible season. Not just for their performance on the field, which was very good, but never in all of professional sports has a team within the course of a single season had as much of an impact on its city as the Saints had.

And oh boy, now we get to hear/see the fucking Superbowl Shuffle for the next two weeks. QUICK, EVERYONE, POST THE YOUTUBE VIDEO ON YOUR BLOG. Jesus Christ, here we go.

I was going to go see “Pan’s Labyrinth” with McLocks tonight, however the only times we could see the film in both theaters showing it was 6:45 and 9:50. Kick-off for Pats/Colts is about 6:30, so that’s a no go, and I really don’t want to be out on a Sunday night until midnight or later.

So not a terribly exciting weekend to those reading, but a lot of fun, especially on Friday. Huzzah.

(Possibly) coming up later: The death of Bam Bam Bigelow, Birthday Wish List.

  1. January 22, 2007 at 12:04 am

    caucasian

    I once worked in a Sushi resturant, do I make you nervous?

    • January 22, 2007 at 12:56 am

      Re: caucasian

      My dear, I’m absolutely petrified of you.

      • January 22, 2007 at 6:04 am

        Re: caucasian

        I’m suspicious of all caucasian waitstaff.

        I guess that’s why I don’t eat out much.

  2. January 22, 2007 at 3:53 am

    As a Chicagoan who bought the original Super Bowl Shuffle video, I may very well be posting it multiple times per day on my blog for the next two weeks.

    DA BEARS!!!!!

  3. January 22, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Try to make sure you see Pan’s Labyrinth in a theater. It’s beautifully filmed, and the story is excellent. Here are a couple of paragraphs from the Pajiba ( http://www.pajiba.com ) review that don’t give away the film’s plot:
    “There is also enough in Labyrinth to allow those in my position to forget, for considerable spans of time, that we are basically watching an adult fairy tale, a notion made a little more palatable by the attendant violence and the intelligent mix of politics and imagination. Certainly, there are enough fairies, fauns, and even a Lewis Carroll toad (that regurgitates its innards) to appeal to the disturbed, Tim Burton-esque adolescent in all of us, but the adult themes — war, the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of life — resonate loudest, even in del Toro’s impeccably created fantasyland, a divine creation that makes Spielberg’s attempts at the same seem like the work of constipated hack playing with a box of 12 Crayola crayons. In fact, I haven’t seen anything this voluptuously detailed since What Dreams May Come, though Labyrinth exchanges lush backdrops for gothic darkness, creating a bloody, almost three-dimensional dream netherworld.

    “Thankfully, Labyrinth also has something Vincent Ward never could have imagined: a coherent plot, here a dark, elaborate fairy tale within an engaging political allegory. The movie opens in 1944 Spain, shortly after the Spanish Civil War. The Franco fascists are in control of the country, mired in a struggle to pick off the few remaining isolated Republican militias.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

